Library Web Sites As Wikis?

Laura Cohen, from Library 2.0: An Academic’s Perspective(which is one of my new favorite blogs), has a really thought provoking post – The Ideal Library 2.0 Academic Library Web Site. In this post, Laura suggests that the ideal library web site would be a combination of blogs and wikis. This combination would allow for two-way conversations between libraries and their communities. I have to admit that I hadn’t really thought about library web sites in this context. It really is an interesting suggestion – and I can see that user content could be quite a valuable addition to the library web site. I guess that I would say that library web sites should be a combination of traditional html pages, blogs and wikis. Each of the three types could have their advantage in certain circumstances. Ultimately, I agree with Laura that we really need to be rethinking our web sites and how we present useful content to our patrons.

One Response to Library Web Sites As Wikis?

  1. […] over at Life as I Know It pointed me toward a new blog and a new idea, all in one post. The new blog is Library 2.0: An Academic’s […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

