LIS Requirements

Several weeks ago, Nicole Engard put together a survey asking MLS students and graduates about the classes that they were required to take. Today, she posted the results. They are very interesting. I wasn’t surprised by the number of current students who took the survey. Engard also had good results from those graduating between 1973 and 1999. However, not many people who graduated between 2000 and 2003 responded. I was very impressed with the number of graduates from Syracuse University – of course, that may skew the results a bit. Anyway, I definitely need to look at the results in more detail. So far, I’m not too surprised about the LIS requirments. Reference, cataloging, management¬†and collection development seem to be the courses most often required of students.

At first, I was a bit surprised by the fact that courses on ethics didn’t seem to be required overall. However, I’m wondering if this is something that seems to get covered in other courses – and if respondents had trouble figuring out into which category their required courses fit. I can’t remember how I responded. I would consider my Foundations of Librarianship class to be the one in which we discussed such topics. Yet, I don’t see a response for an ethics class under the results for Southern Connecticut State University. I guess this means that I put Foundations of Librarianship into the Intro category??? Ahh, human confusion and error – ain’t it grand?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

