I Need To Write More On This

There has been much discussion about library school of late – with some great comments on each of these posts. I need to comment more – especially in light of the fact that sometimes opinions seem to be one sided (and I’m referring to my own). One commenter in particular (Michael Sutherland who has commented on all of the posts, I think) makes some important points about how some posts might be rather discouraging to potential students. I will say here that I don’t believe that library school  is useless. I wouldn’t still be going if I thought this was true. I need to elaborate more – and do intend to at some point.

4 Responses to I Need To Write More On This

  1. Nicole says:

    I can’t wait to see what you have to say. I’d like to make one point though – I don’t think that library school was useless – it got me a new job as a professional librarian. I am annoyed that I needed to go to classes that were outdated and lacked practicality in order to get that job and degree.

  2. John says:

    Hi, side thought on “some posts might be rather discouraging to potential students”. Overall, I am really charged about library school. However, there’s nothing wrong with airing criticisms, and they shouldn’t be avoid for fear of sending the wrong message. Potential library students should have access to make up their minds. Maybe library school isn’t for them.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hi Nicole, I don’t think that you even implied that library school was useless – I was just worried that some people might have taken some of the comments that have been made that way. I have been feeling pretty negative lately in relation to school – and I feel that I need to make it a point to comment about my positive experiences. To be honest, I identified with your original post in so many ways – so many of your experiences have mirrored my own.

    John, I agree that potential students need to hear the good and the bad. I am just worried that due to my own place in my life, I haven’t taken enough time to discuss the positive aspects.

  4. jeff says:

    I learned a lot from library school. For me, it was the classes I chose as my electives. Reference, research, and collection development, although key areas, did not provide me with information I didn’t already know. However, it was the classes on Epistemology and Economics for libraries that were the best for me. I use the skills I learned from those classes every day!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

