Sharing in the Library Community

One of the great things about people who work in libraries is their willingness to share information about things they have done, things they have tried, things that didn’t work, etc. Alan Kirk Gray wrote a post today, Our Best Technology Investment By Far about the use of barcode scanners and touch screens at Darien Public Library. I have wanted to explore touch screens for the circulation desk where I work for a couple of years – but we weren’t really ready – or able to justify the expense. Hearing these types of success stories is incredibly helpful and reminds me that I need to put this back on my radar screen. I hadn’t heard too much about omnidirectional barcode scanners, but I also think I need to investigate these. I know that our current barcode readers often drive the library staff mad (there has been a decrease in quality in the barcodes printed on student IDs – and getting rid of those patron barcodes is also something I want to do). Alan, thank you so much for sharing your experiences! I found your post to be very helpful.

Leave a Reply

