A Grade Finally Arrives

However it finally happened, my summer session professor finally got wind of the fact that our class grades did not get posted to the school’s online system – and that all of his students (two classes) received Rs. I think it was probably a mixture of listserv emails from students who were (and may still be still) a bit dazed and confused by the whole situation and of direct emails to the professor from students asking for clarification. As such at 8:58AM today, I received an email from the professor with my grade. I did fine – all of that worrying about the final was for naught (when will I learn???). Of course, it would be nice to know specifically how I did on the final in order to know how my cataloging skills improved from the first assignment (and how I did on the second paper). But, I will make myself be happy that I have a grade. I can put this class behind me and move on. Ultimately, I am happy to know that the professor did indeed submit the grades on time, but that there was some problem. He won’t be able to resubmit the grades to the school until he returns from the IFLA World Conference, but I can live with that.

Now, I feel like the class is done.

2 Responses to A Grade Finally Arrives

  1. Mark says:

    Congrats! These sorts of mishaps are SO disorienting.

    Maybe you can get the feedback you want when he gets back. You should pursue it, before it doesn’t matter to you anymore.

    Best of luck with your fall semester!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Mark, thanks for the congrats! This grade mishap has been so disorienting. It also highlights the difficulties witht the distance part of the online education. These are the times that you really aren’t sure where to turn for help. I do hope to get some feedback from the professor. I did poorly on the first assignment and feel the need to find out if I corrected some of my mistakes on the final. I keep reminding myself that I am the consumer here – I paid money for this stuff and I need to remind myself that I have a right to ask for more information.

Leave a Reply

