A Rather Cruelly-Ironic Twist of Fate

I have mentioned several times that one of the classes that I am taking in the fall (ILS530 – Information Systems Analysis & Design) hasn’t had an instructor assigned to it. I, of course, have been checking the registration pages daily to see if a professor has been assigned. Classes start on September 6th – and it takes a while to get books. I’m not entirely sure why, but I had this bizarre sense that, with my luck, the professor that taught my summer class would be assigned my ILS530 section. Lo and behold, isn’t that the case? As of this morning, he is listed as the professor. Anyone who has read of my trials and tribulations with my summer class might recall that I have adamantly stated that I would not take a class with him again. And yet, here I am in one of his fall classes.

Now, that most of the angst from the summer class has passed, I am seriously thinking about taking this class. Am I nuts?? Part of me thinks so. But, I’m also a person that believes in second chances. Beyond that, there aren’t too many open classes left that I can register for in place of ILS530 – and only one that I would consider. What to do, what to do, what to do????? I kind of feel like my journey through graduate school is turning into a soap opera.

4 Responses to A Rather Cruelly-Ironic Twist of Fate

  1. kiki says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    I love your equation of grad school with soap operas–it’s definitely been the case for me! I had an awful prof this summer as well, and so empathize with your quandry.

    Here’s my question: would knowing what to expect of this prof make it easier to take another class with him? In other words, can you just grit your teeth and go with the “flow”? If so, then go for it. If not, sign up for another class and hope someone else will be teaching it next time around.

    Kiki

    ps: I read you in bloglines and so don’t make it over here to comment often, so just wanted to say that I’m very much enjoying reading you blog. Oh, and I’m taking a management class this fall, too.

  2. Jennifer,

    Hang in there. Information systems will be useful to you, even if it’s only the forced reading that will get you to learn it. A year or so from now, you will be working and laughing all these library school days off like they were nothing. Promise.

    This is really more of an experiment for me to play in CSS and PHP (forgive my color scheme and poorly designed logo), but I have started a “make your ideal curriculum” wiki.

    http://www.rowlfie.com/MavenStudies

    I would love to see how you would design your ideal LIS course.

    Ryan. . .

  3. Jennifer says:

    Kiki, thanks for your comments. Grad school is beginning to feel like a soap opera. I appreciate your input about trying to decide about ILS530 this fall. I’m leaning towards taking it -because there really isn’t anything viable that I can take in its place. I took a look at your blog – and am enjoying reading the perspective of another student. It really is nice to feel as if I’m not the only person going through these things. It is interesting to note that as a distant education student, I am finding that I more often bond with students at other institutions. Good luck with management this fall!!

    Ryan, I have your blog post where you linked to your curriculum saved – intending to comment. I need to be able to sit down and think about it. Work is crazy trying to get ready for the students return to campus. Thanks for your words of encouragement!

  4. bibliobbabe says:

    I once got a D from a professor in a course. I thought this was very undeserved, ater all I showed up for class more than he did! He gave no grades during the semester, I turned in all the work, and had no idea I was getting the D. I was young and naive (stuoid) and didn’t know protesting this grade was even an option. Then I had to take another class from this guy. It is a require course, he was the only one who taught it…no way around it. So I went to him , told him I didn’t want a D again, what did I have to do to get a better grade in this class. He told me and I did it,. Talk to the teacher, tell him you want to do well and try to find out his expectations.

Leave a Reply

