A Rather Wacky Day

Today was a rather strange day. Work was heinous – one of those days where everything that could go wrong did. Everything was a battle – and I wasn’t really able to finish anything. Re-imaging computers did not go well (they all seem to have different NICs – ARGH!) and I have one computer lab out of service (and still need to image another lab – and install software and make some configuration changes on the computers in our third lab area – ideally by tomorrow). I have significant web page updates that need to take place before next week. Additionally, I have vendors trying to do software installs who are taking up good chunks of my time. This is pretty standard for the end of August in my academic library, although I have a tendency to forget how stressful this time of year can be – probably on purpose. There is usually at least one day where I feel as if I’ve hit rock bottom and will not be able to get everything ready for the start of the semester – and today was it.

I left work early having absolutely had it with the day and my lack of progress. I came home and promptly checked my computer – which makes very little sense given all of the trouble I had with computers at work. I was fairly amazed to see how much traffic my post about Michael Noer’s article in Forbes had generated. It is all a little surreal. I have always been the type of person who genuinely tries to avoid contentious issues – I like peace and quiet. However, sometimes you run across things that you just can’t keep quiet about. And I really couldn’t keep quiet about the how demeaning I found the article. Still, I can’t quite believe how many people have read the post. Despite the fact that I have been blogging for almost a year now, I still can’t get totally used to the fact that people actually read this stuff.

Leave a Reply

