I Didn’t Even Know It Was A Holiday

Happy BlogDay to all!!!!

I first heard of this from Angel at The Gypsy Librarian – and I thankfully she summed up the BlogDay information on her blog since the BlogDay site seems to be unavailable at the moment. From Angel’s post: “From the Blog Day website, “Blog Day was created with the belief that bloggers should have one day dedicated to getting to know other bloggers from other countries and areas of interest. On this day, every blogger will post a recommendation of 5 new blogs. In this way, all Blog web surfers will find themselves leaping around and discovering new, previously unknown blogs.”

I thought that I would list some of my favorite blogs by fellow students. My five recommendations (in no particular order):

  • LIS: Michael Habib On Librarianship and the Information Sciences – Michael Habib is a MSLS student at University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill. Michael has some great insights on Academic Library 2.0, including a great visual picture of the concept. I’m a little bit jealous (okay, I’m a whole lot jealous) that he is almost done with his degree.
  • Into the Stacks – kiki is a library student in Oklahoma. While she has had this blog since November of 2005, I have only recently discovered it. I enjoy her insights into academia.
  • Librarienne – A new student in the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne’s library science program who started this blog back in March of 2006. She starts classes this fall. Librarienne’s personal stories add quite a bit of character to her blog – and make her blog very entertaining.
  • What I Learned Today – A blog by Nicole Engard – an MLIS student at Drexel University who has a great deal of technical knowledge. I’ve picked up many neat tricks and quite a bit of good information from Nicole’s blog.
  • Subject/Object – A blog by Steven Chabot, a masters student in Information Studies at the University of Toronto. This is another blog that I have discovered recently. Steven puts together some very insightful posts on a variety topics.

As for the questions about blogging, I will admit to not preparing in advance.

  • Why did you start blogging? The answer is really two fold. As the tech support person in my library, many questions about blogs, RSS feeds and other social software applications kept coming up. I find that actually using new software is the best way to learn it. At the same time, I had just finished applying to graduate school – and a blog seemed like the perfect way to document my progress through school.
  • What do you blog about mainly? I mainly blog about things that are related to library school. Sometimes, my topics may come from work-related events, thoughts or issues. Lately, I have felt the desire to incorporate more personal information, since school is really a very personal journey.
  • Do you blog in your first language or in another language? Why? I blog in English which is my first language. Although I did take six years of Spanish in high school, I wouldn’t call myself fluent. Hence, English it is.
  • What motivates you to keep blogging even if (like most bloggers) you are not paid much for it? I’m not paid at all for it. Oddly enough, I find blogging to be a very engaging process that keeps me thinking about issues that are important to libraries and to library students. I have been very suprised at how much I enjoy blogging and at how much I get out of it.
  • Is your audience mainly inside your own country or around the world? I would have to say the audience is probably mainly in the my own country. Several of my posts have been linked to by bloggers from other countries, however. I’m not overly sure exactly what my audience looks like.
  • What does your family and friends think about the fact that you a blogger? My husband thinks it is fun to murmur “blog, blog, blog, blog . . . ” when I am sitting in front of the tv with my laptop writing posts. I’m not entirely sure what that means. I would guess he isn’t really sure about what a blog is. My best friend isn’t really sure what to make of it – she kind of can’t believe it. Other than that, no one knows.
  • Does your boss know you have a blog? No, he does not. I struggle whether I should mention it to him or not. The place where I work does not have a blog policy in place – and that scares me a little.
  • What is the relationship between blogs in your country or region and the mainstream media? I’m not sure how to answer this one.
  • When you blog, how would you describe what you write? I think sometimes I rant, sometimes I use the blog as a sounding board, sometimes I ask questions, sometimes I try to write more thoughtful posts. It really all depends upon what is going on in my life at the moment. I don’t think blogs should be restricted to any particular type of writing.
  • Have blogs started to have in impact on politics in your country? Have they started to influence what stories get covered in your country’s media? Given the non-political nature of my blog, I’m not really sure how blogs may have begun to impact politics. I think it will be interesting to watch this over the upcoming presidential election.

Pretty lame answers, but really that’s all I’ve got time for right now.

8 Responses to I Didn’t Even Know It Was A Holiday

  1. mwende says:

    read so many different blogs today. i just love blogdays. my head is full of information now and i am tired but not yet finished.

  2. Obligatory blog day post complete with related ra

    Life as I Know It by Jennifer Macaulay – Jennifer is both a student at Southern Connecticut State and a systems librarian. I have found her writings about her classwork to be quite valuable. She also points out lots of valuable biblioblogosphere stuf…

  3. […] Jennifer of “Life as I Know It” – which will have its one-year blogging anniversary next week! – just introduced me to BlogDay, best summed up by the creators’ site: … created with the belief that bloggers should have one day dedicated to getting to know other bloggers from other countries and areas of interest. On this day every blogger will post a recommendation of 5 new blogs. In this way, all Blog web surfers will find themselves leaping around discovering new, previously unknown blogs. […]

  4. kiki says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    Thanks for the linkage!

    kiki

  5. Mark says:

    Psst! Angel is a guy.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Mark! Sadly, I think that I did know that Angel was a guy, but have been getting a bit too confused by all of the blogs and blog posts that I have been wading through. I think I definitely need to keep better track of things.

  7. […] I Didn’t Even Know It Was A Holiday – from Life as I Know It […]

  8. […] Life as I Know It by Jennifer Macaulay – Jennifer is both a student at Southern Connecticut State and a systems librarian. I have found her writings about her classwork to be quite valuable. She also points out lots of valuable biblioblogosphere stuff that I might otherwise miss. I also found out about blog day from her. […]

Leave a Reply

