A Whole Year of Blogging

Librarienne so nicely reminded me that my blog would be a year old this week – and today gets the distinction of being the actual anniversary. So, I thought I would highlight some of the most important, although not necessarily good, things that have happened in my life since I started the blog:

  • I was accepted into SCSU’s MLS program (November 2005).
  • I turned 35 (November 2005 – and I really don’t consider that a highlight especially since that means that another birthday is quickly approaching).
  • I got my bellybutton pierced (Christmas present from my husband – January 2006) and it might actually have healed ok now (I was worried about it for a while – a long while). My sister in law recently one upped me by getting a tattoo though.
  • My husband was laid off – and has been unemployed for way too long (April 2006 – present).
  • I was devastated by the departure of Michael Vartan from Alias (September 2005) and then even more devastated that the show was canceled. I’m currently in the market for a new tv show to be addicted to.
  • I had a wonderful 2 week vacation in St. Maarten with my husband (March 2006).
  • I finally watched Pirates of the Caribbean (July 2006 while writing my catalog/OPAC paper for my summer class) and it became one of my favorite movies of all time (I have only watched it about 20 times since – DVR rules). Savvy?
  • I took 4 courses in the MLS program at SCSU – and am now 1/3 of the way through the program.
  • I had two bat incidents in my house. The first bat was just hanging out on a bath mat in my bathroom, but the second actually flew around the house – and almost flew into my head. Fortunately, I was armed with my laptop that actually made a pretty good shield for my head.
  • My husband tore cartilage in his knee and had to have surgery (he is having a tough year, now that I think about it).
  • I spent way too much time doing homework – but I guess that is too be expected.
  • I started my blog on Blogger (September 2005) and migrated it to WordPress (May 2006) – which was actually a painless procedure.
  • I gained a little too much weight since going to school leaves me no time to work out (and having an unemployed husband leaves me too little money to have a gym membership).
  • I developed a wonderful DVD collection including the entire series of Remington Steele, the entire La Femme Nikita series, the entire Silk Stalkings series, almost the entire collection of Alias (season 5 will be released this fall) several seasons of Magnum PI, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the X-Files.
  • I (with the help of my husband) ruined the walls in my bathroom by painting over walls that had not been cleaned of existing wall paper glue correctly.

I can’t really claim that blogging had anything to do with any of the aforementioned items. However, it has been a truly enjoyable experience and has broadened my educational experiences in so many positive ways. A big thanks to Librarienne for the reminder – and to everyone for reading!!!!!

3 Responses to A Whole Year of Blogging

  1. Mark says:

    Congrats on the anniversary and all the other good things! May all the others improve before the next one’s out.

    And tattoos and piercings aren’t (or shouldn’t be) one upmanship. They are completely different things, and the one is pretty darn near permanent. I have 4 tats and might get more; but no one is sticking any stinkin’ holes in me! 😉

    Thanks for joining in the conversation out here.

  2. kiki says:

    That’s quite a year you’ve had. Happy anniversary, and best wished for a smooth semester!

  3. mr skin says:

    Pirates 2 pretty much sucked compared to the first one. It had a few good parts, but I think it was just a prelude to the 3rd one. I hope number 3 is better!

Leave a Reply

