The Assignments Begin . . .

Well, the semester has started with a bang – ok, really more of a loud noise. I have two assignments due on Sunday (the 17th) and a weekend full of non-school obligations. For ILS565 – Library Management, I have a “current perspective exercise” due. This is primarily an assignment to interview a librarian who has managerial responsibilities and then to write a summary that is no longer than 350 words. I think that the 350 word limit is going to be a tough one. If I remember correctly, the essay that SCSU required as part of the application process had to be about 500 words – and that was less than one page. I had to edit it several times in order to weed it down to the required length. Anyway, I have asked someone if they would be willing to be interviewed – and received an affirmative (and very helpful) reply. The questions that I asked are as follows:

  1. If you could offer on piece of advice to librarians in their first management position, what would it be?
  2. What skills does one need to be a good manager?
  3. How did you learn to be a manager?
  4. What is the biggest management problems that you have faced? How did you solve the problem?
  5. How do you know when you are doing a good job? Conversely, how do you know you have a problem that needs your attention?
  6. What is the most difficult part of managing a library? What is the most rewarding part?

The second assignment (for ILS530 – Information Systems Analysis and Design) is a 3-5 page, subject review paper. We need to select 1-2 books/articles dealing with information systems analysis and design and then write summaries of the major principles discussed in the book or articles. Additionally, we need to make a list of the methods/tools used for the information systems analysis and design from the book/articles with short descriptions of each. I’ve looked at several articles – the library where I work does not have any good books on the topic and am still having trouble selecting two articles. Fortunately, I received my second textbook for this class today – so I can use that to help. I’m hoping to make my definitive selection tomorrow so that I can get started on this paper.

Admittedly, I’m having a bit of trouble getting myself motivated – and started. But on the home front, my husband is gainfully employed again. For this, I’m having a celebratory drink – and not worrying about homework tonight!

Leave a Reply

