Sunday Evening Reflections

I’ve spent most of the weekend catching up on all sorts of things, but especially reading for school. So far, I’m enjoying both of my classes. I’ve spent today reading a bunch of stuff for my management class – something that I’ve been finding it difficult to make myself sit down and do. I also keep putting off participating in the class discussions for as long as possible. While reading through many of the students’ comments this weekend (and thinking about what I wanted to add), I realized that I am finding this management class very difficult – not difficult in terms of work, but difficult personally – even painful. Library management is not something that I am just studying, but am also living. Given that I manage a department with one part-time employee, everything that we are studying has real and immediate implications. I’m also very sensitive to the fact that management is not a skill that I have truly mastered. I want to be better at it, and I want to learn – but it isn’t easy. So, I think that I am reminded of my own deficiencies with every reading and with every discussion question. This class itself is great. I think that I will learn a great deal. However, I kind of can’t wait until it is over. Scary!!!!

2 Responses to Sunday Evening Reflections

  1. Jonathan says:

    I can totally appreciate what you’re saying. This past summer I took a class on Project Management, and the whole time I was reminded of all the things I could have done better when I designed MPOW’s intranet a year prior. How I wish I had taken that class first! Live and learn, I suppose.

  2. Jennifer says:

    That is exactly how I feel taking this management class. I suppose it is never too late to learn things – and lessons can always be used in the future. It is just painful to live through the things that remind you about things you could (or could have) done better.

Leave a Reply

