Getting Out of the Office

As part of the process of going to school and trying to expand my horizons, I really to need to be getting out of the office more – going to conferences, etc. This is something that I have shied away from in the past if possible – as many quiet people would. I doubt that I will ever be an overly social person who longs for more social situations. However, I think I’ve hurt my career and personal development by deliberately avoiding conferences and the like. With this in mind I have registered for two of Nelinet’s upcoming conferences – Nelinet’s IT Conference 2006: Social Networking: Plugging New England Libraries into Web 2.0 and Nelinet’s Annual Bibliographic Services Conference: OPAC 2.0: Reinventing the Library Catalog. I’m actually looking forward to both – but am probably a bit more excited about the OPAC 2.0 conference. OPAC reform is really becoming the issue that seems to be most important to me.

3 Responses to Getting Out of the Office

  1. Iris says:

    I know EXACTLY how you feel, and I made a similar resolution last year. Not that the resolution made it any easier, but I did end up going to conferences, and I found that I really enjoy them. Unfortunately, I only enjoy them once I’m there. I never wake up in the morning and think, “Hmm, I want to go to a conference. I wonder what’s going on conference-wise in the next couple of months.” Still, practice makes better, if not perfect. Hopefully I’ll get better at going to conferences. 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Iris, I’m glad to know that others have trouble with this too! In the past, I have always thought about going to different conferences, and then convinced myself that I was too busy at work to go. I’m trying hard to break that pattern. Thanks for your comment!!

  3. Beth says:

    Hi Jennifer–
    I am a quiet, somewhat loner-type person too but I LOVE going to conferences. You will almost always bring something back that you didn’t know before. I nearly always meet someone interesting, even if they do not work in the same area as myself and also nearly always see at least one classmate from LIS school. I just push myself out there to meet people. It’s hard, but I do it. Just be careful of the vendors if you go to the exhibits–they are always nice, but some are very pushy (you know, sales people). Have fun!

Leave a Reply

