A Bit of Humor

When I first saw a reference to Tom Peters and Lori Bell’s article Making OPACs Blow (Computers in Libraries, 26(8), September 2006, p.20-23), I will admit that I was taken aback by the title. I thought it an odd choice (ok, a very odd choice); I chuckled a bit to myself (ok, maybe more than a bit); and then went to read the article because I thought it important (and still think so). But I have to say that I laughed quite a bit when I found this discussion about the title. A Caveat: The discussion is a bit off-color and could be offensive to some – if you didn’t find the choice of title to be questionable or are easily offended, you might not want to click on the link.

6 Responses to A Bit of Humor

  1. Megan says:

    Oh what on EARTH were they thinking over at CiL? Hilarious nonetheless…

  2. rochelle says:

    I am so glad someone else said this. I was thinking, “maybe I just have a filthy mind.” Which may well be true, but still….tee hee….they said blow!

  3. I was greatly amused (as author of the “How OPACs Suck” articles on TechSource).

  4. Jennifer says:

    I found this all extremely amusing!!! Rochelle, I will admit that mind naturally wonders in that direction also.

    Besides the prurient direction that the title seems to lead one in, I also had this image of an OPAC spewing forth data (MARC records, patron information, etc) from a whale’s blow hole all over the library.

  5. rochelle says:

    I’m guessing what they were alluding to was the old jazz term blow–“man that cat can really blow.” But, along with Jennifer, aside from the obvious sexual connotation, the term “blow chunks” kept popping into my head. Let’s all make sure to razz Tom and Lori when we next see them!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Rochelle, now I have another great OPAC image in my head. Maybe instead of the OPAC sucks mantra, we should be using OPACs blow chunks!!!!

Leave a Reply

