A New Breed Of Personal SPAM

Catching SPAM for either email or blogs is a never-ending battle that is constantly in flux. SPAM seems to be reduced when filters learn patterns and develop successful blocking strategies. At this point, of course, SPAMmers then change their strategies in order to circumvent filters and see that their massive amount of wicked useful content is delivered to end users. It is a cycle that can be humorous when I am in the right frame of mind. Today, I have to admit that I was highly amused by the following SPAM email disguised as a personal missive (which did not get labelled as SPAM by the mail filter at work):

Hey,

It’s no secret the gifts you’ve gotten your partner over the last few years have been not so great. Most people at the office know you don’t like to spend. That is fine but you get a bit of a bad reputation for being so cheap.I have an idea if you are willing. A few of us have bought off this one website the last few years. The products are charming and work awesome. Everyone who has gotten/given a gift like this has been super thrilled. The selection is very affordable for the quality and name you get. I know everything I have bought over the past few years works great. I will put the website below so at least you have any idea of how to spice up Christmas this year and get some credit you probably finally deserve.

NOTE: URL for spicing up Christmas was originally here.

We should also hookup for dinner and a few drinks after the staff Christmas party this year. I’m sure we can swap some stories about that. Talk to you soon.

Mike

Of course, I wasn’t as amused a couple of weeks ago when I received a similar message from a SPAMmer masquerading as a coworker who felt the need to confidentially tell me that everyone in the office wanted me to know that I am fat and need to go on a diet. Supposedly the URL that the sender was pointing me to was a suggested weight loss plan. That one I promptly deleted. Several days later, there was a SPAM email about the fact that my coworkers didn’t really like me very much – the sender was offering to help me fit in around the office better.

I’m not entirely sure what to make of this new breed of SPAM in which I am called cheap, fat or unlikable. The emails themselves are pretty comical. However, do we really need people we don’t even know insulting us? Don’t any SPAM type people think they might make us happier with praise? Send me all the SPAM you want if you are willing to tell me that I am a good gift giver, skinny and/or well-liked by my peers. Anyway, I’m sure that I will have plenty of time to mull this over while I’m waiting for this mysterious Mike to show up after my work Christmas party so that we can go out for dinner and drinks. I hope he has some good stories to tell me. Maybe I will learn something from him and be able to make all of my family and friends “super thrilled” this holiday season.

UPDATE: For what it is worth: while writing this post, I received 15 SPAM emails (fortunately none with personal slights to my character) and 2 SPAM comments on this blog.

2 Responses to A New Breed Of Personal SPAM

  1. feefeeb says:

    I had a similar email about me being too fat. I find this kind of junk mail to be particularly awful – there are plenty of people out there who lack the confidence to laugh off these things. When you are feeling down the last thing you need is someone invading your own private space and calling you names!!
    Sorry about the rant, but these emails really annoy me

  2. Jennifer says:

    Actually, I was extremely annoyed by the one that called me fat – it actually came on one of those bad days when I couldn’t really laugh it off (and before I knew not to read these emails). I tried to make this blog post a bit more tounge in cheek because getting really angry isn’t going to make it go away. I honestly can’t believe this recent tact taken by SPAMmers. Pleased feel free to rant about it – that seems to be our only recourse at this point.

Leave a Reply

