A Plea For Some Sanity

During the last week, I have been feverishly working on school assignments. With the end of the semester looming like a big, nasty storm cloud, I have had to buckle down and concentrate on my school work. For ILS565-Library Management, I had my in-basket exercise (a management simulation exercise where we pose as a library director who comes into work on a Monday morning and has 12 items waiting to be addressed in the “in-basket” before having to leave for the afternoon) due on Sunday. While working on that I happened to read through the syllabus to learn that the final project for ILS530-Information Systems Analysis & Design was due today (27th). While I did kind of know this, it had slipped my mind. As such, I started spending every waking moment working on this project.

Fortunately, I had a wonderful Thanksgiving – and only did a little bit of homework in the morning. However, the rest of the holiday weekend was schoolwork followed by more schoolwork. I was able to finish the in-basket exercise early Saturday afternoon. I emailed it to the professor (who returned it graded by about 5:30PM). I then spent all day yesterday continuing to work on the systems analysis project. I even took today off – since it was supposed to be due today. Now, I will admit that I am a tad bit grouchy – maybe even irritable and/or irascible. However, when the professor for ILS530 posted the assignment tool for the final project today, the due date was listed as December 4th. On one hand, I’m glad that I am mostly done with the project and that I have some time to work on refining it – however, on the other hand, I’m not very happy. I’ve been working hard not to complain too bitterly about this particular class, but my patience is wearing quite thin. Really, I need to get the project finished and turn it in so that I can consider this class over and done.

I definintely need some time away from school!!!!!!

4 Responses to A Plea For Some Sanity

  1. Sam E. says:

    Heh…I posted my project today anyway. I’m so irritated with that class that I figured it’s better to just have it over and done with than to try and make the project any better.

    Good luck with the rest of your assignments!

  2. kiki says:

    Glad you at least got a little break for Thanksgiving, Jennifer. Those breathers are what get me through.

    But again with the similar expereinces! I had a project due today, but the prof moved the due date to the 6th, and now I’m having to decide whether or not to fix it up or just turn it in as is. My feelings are running similar to Sam E.’s, though, so it’ll probably be in the dropbox later today.

    Hope the rest of your semester goes smoothly, even if it is hectic.

    Kirsten

  3. Brian says:

    Hi. I wanted to let you know that I have been reading your blog for a few months and that you helped inspire me to start my own MLIS student blog. I haven’t commented on any your posts previously, but I wanted to say that I especially value how you process and discuss your feelings, frustrations, excitement, etc. Not only do you cover some fascinating library-specific topics, but you do it in an accessible and humanized way. So…ummm…..I thought I should let you know that I dig reading your blog! And I gave you a namedrop in my inaugural post at http://www.thewantedlibrarian.typepad.com

    Best, Brian

  4. Jennifer says:

    Sam, I am SO, SO jealous that your are finished with all of your MLS classes. I can’t even imagine being done. I have 6 more classes to go – and feel the need not to take two classes in a semester again. Best of luck with everything.

    Kiki, thanks for the comments. I really appreciate your sentiments. It helps to know that people everywhere experience the same types of problems.

    Brian, I’m looking forward to reading your blog. I don’t think there are enough student blogs out there – and thanks for the kind words about my blogs. I can’t quite believe that my blog inspired anyone!!!!

Leave a Reply

