A Month And A Half Later . . .

and the professor in ILS530 – Information Systems Analysis & Design graded my system case study paper. The paper was due on October 29th and was graded today. Is it just me or is that a huge time lag????? Anyway, that means that all grades except for the final project are in (and I don’t really expect to get a grade on that paper – just a final grade in the class sometime in early January).  I will admit that I have been logging into the class site a couple of times a day since I completed the final project in hopes of finding out about a grade on the system case study paper.

The good news is that I will pass. Yeah!

6 Responses to A Month And A Half Later . . .

  1. Mark says:

    It is not simply a huge time lag; (barring unknown odd circumstances) it is completely unacceptable.

    I would hope that you (and/or other students) are discussing it with the prof first, and the admin if need be. Of course, that’s up to you. I know I would be, though.

  2. If my wife (a college professor) made her students wait 6 weeks for a grade on an assignment, they’d riot. I’m with Mark- that’s really not okay. If the prof isn’t receptive to your concerns about this or if you aren’t comfortable talking to the prof, talk to the adminstration about it.

  3. Laura says:

    If it’s any consolation, I have yet to receive any assignment back from the online course I took this semester. I may turn in my final project late, just for the heck of it. It’s odd, though, as I’ve taken classes with this professor before, and she’s always been extremely timely in responding to questions and returning assignments. I figure something must be up.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the comments. I definitely agree that six and a half weeks is unacceptable (there are no extenuating circumstances that I am aware of). I’ve been pondering what to do about this situation. I took this professor before – and this just seems to be his mo. I think I will be spending this break trying to decide how best to address the problems that I’ve had in the program. I haven’t really figured out what means of support, criticism etc. there are for distance students. I’m not sure if the problems that I have experienced are simply because of the distance issue or if they also plague the traditional program.

  5. Sam E. says:

    Just so you know, my final project was just returned graded. I was shocked…I’d been expecting it to run right up to the wire.

    Of course, he doesn’t seem to do them all at once. But still — you might check, just in case.

    I gave him the worst evaluation ever, btw. I’m thinking about sending a letter to the department after my graduation paperwork is fully processed.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Sam, I logged into the class site yesterday and was stunned to see that my final project had been graded (in less than two weeks). Wow!!!! I also submittted a rather negative evaluation. I’m still trying to decide what other steps to take. It is hard to know what to do or to whom to turn as a distance student. I think in addition to this professor, there are some other issues in the program’s distance program that need to be debated and improved.

Leave a Reply

