Five Things You May Not Know About Me

Over the past week, I’ve taken a break from blogging – writing on my on my own and reading others. While catching up on all the new blog posts, I have thoroughly enjoyed learning five new things about so many of the bloggers in libraryland. I wasn’t sure whether I would join in until Ryan Deschamps from The Other Librarian specifically tagged me this morning. I’ve been thinking about it all morning – and trying to come up with five little known, but  not completely boring facts about myself. Enjoy!!!

  1. One of my favorite leisure activities is doing math & logic puzzles. I’ve always been a huge fan of Cross Sums (or Kakro) and have had a subscription to Dell’s Math Puzzles and Logic Problems for years. A couple of years ago, I discovered Nurikabe and Slither Link which have now become my favorites. I have been ordering Nurikabe and Slither Link puzzle books from a company called Nikoli in Japan for about 4 years now. They also have an online site on which they release new puzzles every day. Interestingly enough, Sudoku doesn’t really do it for me. I usually leave those puzzles until the end.
  2. When applying to college, I seriously considered studying computer science. I took as many programming classes in high school as I could – and absolutely loved them. However, I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to do the math. This is ironic because if you were to look at my high school transcripts, math was my best subject. I didn’t realize this until well after I graduated from college. I ended up as a history major. I have since taken many computer science and math classes without any real problems. I have no regrets because had I not taken the path I did, I probably wouldn’t be where I am now (working with computers in a library setting).
  3. I am a tv and pop culture junkie. Whenever I am doing something at home, I always have the tv on. I can’t do homework without it on – although I do make sure that the show isn’t one that I need to (or really more importantly want to) pay close attention to. I gossip about celebrity news with several coworkers at lunch. As an aside, I absolutely hate reality tv. I have no desire to watch people fight and argue on tv – unless of course it is the Teutuls from American Chopper. They make me laugh. Mikey is my favorite. I meant to ask for a “Mikey Rules” t-shirt for Christmas, but forgot.
  4. I have never, ever seen the following movies (and have no intention of ever seeing them either): Titanic, any of the Lord of the Rings movies, or any of the Harry Potter movies. If someone is watching any of these movies (in addition to any war movies or any of those feel-good, rah-rah sports movies) I literally feel the need to leave the room). I wish with every fiber of my being that I hadn’t seen Forrest Gump – probably my all time most-hated movie. It is of course one of my husband’s favorites. I threatened divorce when he tried to name his boat “Jenny.” Another little know fact is that I hate to be called Jenny. My grandmother, assorted aunts and uncles and one cousin are the only ones who can get away with it. I can live with (and answer to Jen), but will always refer to myself as Jennifer.
  5. I once spit an entire mouthful of water all over a conference table at a meeting at work which included the college’s CIO, the Associate Vice President for Finance and all of the IT staff. One of the tech guys made a face that made me laugh while I was attempting to take a sip of water. Needless to say, the water went everywhere. The CIO was very helpful in cleaning up the mess. The guys in IT remember this incident quite fondly – and it may have helped me gain acceptance into their ranks.

Since another little known fact is that I never pass along chain letters, chain emails, pleas for help or money, etc., I can’t actually tag anyone else. Please feel free to join if you haven’t. It is actually quite fun!!!

Leave a Reply

