A Creative Twist To The Five Things Meme

Kathy Sierra, from Creating Passionate Users, kind of turned the five things meme around a bit into Five(ish) Things I Don’t Know About You. I like the way that she is trying to find out more than the standard statistical information about her readers. Kathy writes:

Obviously it depends on the context–you’d ask different questions of someone you’re dating vs. a job interviewee vs. a customer vs. someone your daughter is dating. But I wonder, should the questions we ask our users be that different from the ones we’d ask our dates

The long and the short is that Kathy is asking her readers some more personal questions about them. As a loyal reader, I thought I would join in. So here goes (the questions are directly pasted from the original post over at Creating Passionate Users:

0) What’s your name and website URL? (optional, of course)
Jennifer – https://scruffynerf.wordpress.com

1) What’s the most fun work you’ve ever done, and why? (two sentences max)
Successfully solving difficult technical problems is fun. I guess because it is incredibly rewarding.

2) A. Name one thing you did in the past that you no longer do but wish you did? (one sentence max)
I loved managing a government documents department in the library where I still currently work.

B. Name one thing you’ve always wanted to do but keep putting it off? (one sentence max)
I always wanted to be a computer programmer.

3) A. What two things would you most like to learn or be better at, and why? (two sentences max)
I would love to be learn to better at computer programming and drawing, painting or some other type of artistic endeavor. Programming could help me in my job, but being more artistic would help me be a more creative type of person.

B. If you could take a class/workshop/apprentice from anyone in the world living or dead, who would it be and what would you hope to learn? (two more sentences, max)
I don’t think that I have an answer to this. I’m much more interested in learning things in a more global way without the need for a particularly personal connection to one person.

4) A. What three words might your best friends or family use to describe you?
Dependable, quiet, and reserved

B. Now list two more words you wish described you…
Creative and fun

5) What are your top three passions? (can be current or past, work, hobbies, or causes– three sentences max)
Having a happy marriage and home life, being a good/decent person and being good at my job.

6) (sue me) Write–and answer–one more question that YOU would ask someone (with answer in three sentences max)
What do you consider your greatest achievement in life? The love and support of my family friends without whom nothing else in my life would matter.

Bonus: What is one question you wish people would ask themselves?
Why am I afraid of people who think differently than I, act differently than I and believe in different things than I do? 

Leave a Reply

