What A Good Idea

Over at the Free Range Librarian, K.G. Schneider discusses her need for a training plan– or BOPSIASK (Bibliographically-oriented Prism on Sequential and Intentional Acquisition of Scholarly Knowledge – see original blog post for proper pronunciation). Schneider has given this plan a whole lot of thought – it is broken down into several categories: reading, hands-on education, conference programs, vendor schmoozing, teaching and training and writing. What an excellent idea. I find that sometimes life seems to spin a bit out of control – and I’m usually left wondering exactly where I’m going. For me, this means that there seems to be no real direction to what I’m doing (for more, read my What Am I Doing Here? post).

While I may not exactly be ready for a training plan (because school is actually dictating my current training regime and I can’t bear to add anything else to the mix at this point), I think that an overall plan might be a good idea. This may help me feel as if I’m a bit more in control over things happening in my life. At the very least, I really need to be giving more thought to my school work, what I’m doing and what I want to get out of the experience. After this semester, I will only have 4 classes left. I guess I can float through or try and find a way to get the most out of the time I have left. A plan – I’ll have to give this some thought.

Leave a Reply

