To Confuse The Issue Even More . . .

After publishing the preceding post with my musings about class choices for my final four courses, I happened to look at SCSU’s ILS department web site to check on courses schedules. Oddly enough, links to the new guidelines for planning one’s MLS program were actually there. Of course, why they are listed on the course schedule page, I can’t quite determine. However, I was excited to actually see them posted. I don’t know when they were added, but it wasn’t that long ago. My advisor has told me a couple of weeks ago that the planned program form that was in use was revised last fall. I’m not entirely sure why this information wasn’t given to the students several months ago.

[For an institution that is supposed to be preparing students to work with information in an effective manner, their communication skills could be considered to be less than ideal.] 

Fortunately, the new guidelines wouldn’t have changed my course selection for this current term – so, I guess I can’t complain too rigorously. However, they do throw my future class plans into disarray. I need to check with my advisor about his thoughts on course selection. This new plan does break down the courses in the program into 7 groups. It is suggested that one the 5 requirements are met students should take their 7 electives from at least three of the remaining 6 groups. Most of mine are in one group – and the ones that I planned to take this summer are in that same group. Yikes!!!! This is a big headache!!!

Leave a Reply

