Please Let Today Be A Better Day!

Did you ever have one of those days that made you want to run screaming from the library never to return? Yesterday was one of those days for me. I was utterly amazed at how easy it is for the library to be left out of important decisions and projects (like a college-wide web site redesign). I was seriously disheartened by how easily this could happen – and feeling as if I have been beating my head against a brick wall for the past several years. By the time I left work yesterday, I was seriously questioning my career choices.

A wonderful bath, some excellent alone time, a non-school book and a nice alcoholic beverage helped to give me some needed perspective – to make the world look a little less hostile and uninviting. Of course that only lasted until I read this, this, this and this all about this atrocity involving cyberbullying and death threats. I’m constantly amazed at the depth to which some people will sink. This is scary, scary stuff that can’t help but make me question the humanity of our species.

Really, I need today to be a better day!

3 Responses to Please Let Today Be A Better Day!

  1. Kristofer says:

    Jennifer: welcome to the world of academic librarianship. Our university went through not only a web redesign, but also moved to a Content Management System (CMS). It was a battle to make sure the library was linked off of the university’s homepage and make sure the CMS was able to do the things we needed. The good thing is that we have a great working relationship with our IT and our faculty/administration. Unfortunately, this redesign and move to a CMS was run out of University Relations (the marketing folks), who have very different motives for a web page.

    A good portion of our workload is working with university committees on a variety of issues making sure the library’s voice is heard. All the professional librarians are currently working in groups dealing with the university’s new Strategic Plan. I think the biggest annoyance we have is the starting of new programs w/o ANY consultation as to what the library support will be and what they will need to start and maintain a library collection of resources. Hope you feel better! 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    I do feel better today, thank you!

    We are in the same type of situation – a web site redesign, a move to a CMS and a web site controlled by our marketing department. I also have a great working relationship with our IT department – and they are the only reason that I found out about this situation. It is nice to know that I’m not alone in this struggle!!! 🙂

  3. […] trust an academic librarian who can find the time to post daily. ;-).  I did leave a comment at Life as I Know It.  Jennifer was experiencing some of that wonderfully annoying stuff we all go through at […]

Leave a Reply

