Interesting Idea

Ever heard of Speed Geeking? It is an annual career event at Simmons College held by the student chapter of ASIS&T. It is described as:

In speed geeking, small groups of students meet with one professional librarian (aka geek) at a time to gain insight into what it’s like to be a working librarian. You can ask questions about their job, patrons, professional development or get tips on library school. Whatever you’re curious about.

Given that I am fortunate enough not to be a grad student who is looking for a job or wondering about what type of librarian I want to be, I don’t often pay attention to these types of items. However, this is a really cool idea. I’m impressed. I have no idea if SCSU has these types of things. Distance students have a tendency to be really out of the loop on ILS campus events. I can say that if they do have these types of things, they aren’t publicized off-campus.

Andrea Mercado from Library Techtonics pointed me to this item.  Andrea thinks that Speed Geeking could be implemented at regional conferences. I think she may be on to something. It sounds like a great way to get people talking and asking questions.

One question: does professional librarian equal geek?

4 Responses to Interesting Idea

  1. […] than the speed of geek Jennifer shares an interesting idea for career education: speed geeking. I’ll shamelessly quote what Jennifer quotes: In speed […]

  2. Andrea says:

    Hi there, and thanks for reading. 🙂

    “One question: does professional librarian equal geek?”

    OK, this depends on your definition of geek. I’m assuming you mean tech geek, but if not, definitely correct me.

    In that case, in a nutshell: no. At least, not right now. I had a really interesting conversation with Pathfinder Linden last night (IRL, at the B-Side Lounge in Cambridge, MA) about how the librarian rock stars who are doing so much in Second Life are really such a small percentage of the librarian community overall, and that there’s a digital divide of knowledge within our professional base, nevermind the digital divide we deal with in some of our more rural or underfunded libraries.

    If you’re talking about geek in a more general “an intellectual who is bent on a particular profession” sense, then yeah, we’re all kinda geeky. I love me some geeks, trust me, but librarians are geeks in a more negative way, focusing too much on trying to tell people what to do in a self-service information economy. But I’ll get off that soapbox for now now. ;D

  3. Jennifer says:

    Andrea, I appreciated the fact that you mentioned Speed Geeking in your blog. It is an interesting concept that I think could be applied elsewhere in many ways.

    My question about does librarian=geek was somewhat tongue in cheek. I agree with you that it definitely depends on one’s definition of geek. I will admit to often being categorized as a geek – and I’m fine with that. However, I wouldn’t label most of the librarians I know as geeks. I’m not sure how I would label them – but I’m having fun thinking about it all!!

  4. Alison says:

    A tongue-in-cheek question or not, Andrea’s definition of someone passionate about their profession is more in line with how I use ‘geek’ in this context, though I haven’t been able to articulate it (until now). Thanks for the promo!

Leave a Reply

