I Hate To Admit It, But I Have Voyeuristic Tendencies

I don’t use any type of instant messaging or chat function – ever. Really! Technically, I’ve used live chat once – with Comcast tech support several years ago. Despite being an omnivore with an overwhelming number of gadgets and devices who is hyperconnected, I’ve always avoided any contact with instant messaging. It isn’t because I think it’s bad. I don’t. It is an important means of communication. I guess I’ve just usually found something else that I wanted to play with more. And, none of my friends use it nor do we use it at work – so that doesn’t leave me with anyone to chat with.

Secretly, there is a part of me that thinks instant messaging could become addictive – too addictive – like get-in-the-way-of-work-and-life addictive. This was confirmed for me today with the creation of a Meebo chat room for the Library Society of the World by Joshua M. Neff. Like many others, I felt compelled to check it out – and I don’t even want to speculate about how much time I spent just watching and reading and watching. And seriously, I couldn’t look away. It is very strange to read people’s chats. The text of the chats were often very disjointed – making it difficult to figure out who was responding to whom. But, I felt compelled to try. Seriously, I have to stay away!!!!!

3 Responses to I Hate To Admit It, But I Have Voyeuristic Tendencies

  1. I’m giving it a second try this morning, but I think I agree. Some people do better with continuous interruptions than others. Of course, I’m one of those Threadbasre Technologists or Disappointed Dweebs or whatever term Pew used (OK, Lackluster Veteran), so it’s to be assumed that I can’t cope with IM.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oohh!! I definitely want to be a Disappointed Dweeb. I give you credit for trying it out. I find it difficult to read IM-speak. I like full sentences with capitalization, etc. But, it must be a great way to connect with people all over the world in real time.

  3. […] Was Outed! This past Saturday evening, I was indulging in my voyeuristic tendencies by checking out the Library Society of the World chat room on Meebowhen some of the participants […]

Leave a Reply

