It Has Been A Wild Year

It seems to be obligatory to stop and reflect about blogging experiences when one reaches particular milestones. Well, it was just about a year ago (the actual date is tomorrow, May 19) that I migrated this blog from Blogger to WordPress. To me, this marks the start of when I became serious about blogging. I actually started this blog back in September of 2005 – and used it almost exclusively to document my coursework. Admittedly, I was extremely nervous and as such, tentative about blogging – and about revealing too much of myself in a public forum. In the beginning, I was too nervous to reveal my name and interested in flying under everyone’s radar.

By early May of 2006, I was growing unsatisfied with blogging as a whole. I was putting time into something out of which I was getting little in return. I wasn’t thrilled with Blogger – and I remember switching themes and losing all of the configuration that I had done. This led me to investigate WordPress – and to then, migrate. It was also about this time that I decided to relax a little and let go of some of the rigid control with which I blogged. Honestly, this made all the difference in the world. I have had a ball blogging over the past year. It has been one of the most fulfilling parts of my library-related life. I feel like I have made friends, become part of a larger community, and made an impact (in a small way).

It has been a very cool ride!

5 Responses to It Has Been A Wild Year

  1. Mark says:

    Glad to hear it! I, for one, am glad you’re here. 🙂

  2. I agree on relaxing and just letting it happen. I enjoy your blog. Congrats on the blogiversary!

  3. Joe Fox says:

    Congratulations on this anniversary ! Your blog is great reading for everyone in the library community, and particularly those of us who are LIS students 🙂

  4. Kirsten says:

    Ditto on the congrats!

    And the community really is one of the great things about blogging.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Thanks all for the kind words. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

