I Did It . . . Finally!

I just emailed a letter to the Dean of the School of Information, Communication and Library Science at SCSU. I had initially sent him an inquiry at least a month ago, and he asked for the issues that I would like to have addressed. With the end of the semester, I had to push it off a bit – and really, I needed some space and some distance from this past semester. Once things quieted down, I began to second guess myself, question whether I wanted to continue to push things, and think about climbing back into my shell and just powering through the rest of the program. I definitely got the impression that several people would be very happy if I just let things go. Fortunately, I had the support of my advisor and with some subtle (so subtle he might even have realized that he was doing so) prodding on his part, I made myself revisit the whole thing. I determined that I needed to say something. We (students) can sit back and complain incessantly about things we think are unfair, wrong or unclear. However, how do people know what is wrong if people don’t tell them? I don’t want to be someone that just accepts status quo. If they will let me, I want to be an agent of positive change – to make things better – to make the education experience more rewarding. Along with some help from Pink and my new favorite song, U + Ur Hand, I got myself fired up again.

So, it is done. I wrote the letter – and we shall see.

5 Responses to I Did It . . . Finally!

  1. Good for you Jennifer!

  2. Mark says:

    Good for you!

  3. Sharon says:

    Thanks, Jennifer! I hope The Powers That Be will read it with open minds.

  4. michelle says:

    What kinds of issues at school concern you. Kudos for saying something to someone who can do something about your concerns instead of complaining behind his or her back! I hope the person listens and responds.

  5. […] mentioned in May that I had sent a letter about school/distance issues to the Dean of the School of Information, […]

Leave a Reply

