Back From Vacation

My husband made it back from Las Vegas yesterday morning about 2AM. We had a wonderful time, but are both happy to be home. There is something heavenly about returning to one’s own bed after being away in a hotel. I spent almost 6 hours catching up on email, blogs, school discussion posts, mail and the like yesterday. While I did bring my laptop, I refused to pay $11.99 for 24 hours of internet access at Bally’s – and as such, was truly unplugged for just about a week. I think that this was the first time since my honeymoon (just about 8 years ago) that I did not go near a computer (unless you count slot machines) or the internet for a whole week.

It was wonderful to be unplugged  – and not worried about school or work. I definitely needed the time away. The down side? There were over 350 discussion posts on my classes while I was away and over 3000 emails – very painful to have to wade through. Also, I have a paper due tomorrow. I did do some work on it before I left – and did more reading while on the flight home. However, I have lots and lots of work to do over the next 24 hours. It is back to reality!!

Some random thoughts about my vacation:

  • 110 degrees is too hot – whether it is a dry heat or not. Yes, it is dry (which mostly bothered my nose), but it was still too hot to be outside for very long. We lucked out that a weather front came in on Tuesday which made it overcast and very windy. By Wednesday, it was in the 80s – and was actually cool in the shade. I liked Vegas much better at 80 degrees than at 110.
  • The Bellagio is an awesome place for a wedding. My cousin got married there last Sunday – on a terrace overlooking the area where the water show takes place. The reception was in an executive suite – which gave us a glimpse of how the other half lives.
  • I didn’t bring the right shoes – and all the walking kicked me in the posterior (especially when it was 110 degrees). Everything on the strip appears to be closer than it really is. Once you get to one of the hotels, there is still a massively long walk to get where you are going.
  • Three days in Las Vegas was more than enough. We had already walked up and down the strip, gone to the old strip, gambled more than we wanted and spent way more money than we should have.
  • The Grand Canyon was spectacular – definitely my favorite part of the trip.
  • The Hoover Dam was just as awesome. We rented a PT Cruiser convertible to drive there – any my husband got sunburned.
  • 64 ounces of a strawberry daiquiry while sitting in the sun by the pool was more than I really needed. That was how I got my sunburn. Fortunately, I recovered in time to see Cirque du Soleil’s O show that evening at the Bellagio.
  • The O show was amazing.
2 Responses to Back From Vacation

  1. Joe says:

    “Everything on the strip appears to be closer than it really is”…..

    Boy is that the truth. The first time I was there, I was walking and saw Caesars Palace ahead on the strip and thought, hey we’re almost there. I think a half-hour of walking later I was saying the same thing 🙂 It really is very deceptive and if you don’t have sneakers or comfortable shoes, it can be tough. It’s good that you were able to see some non-Vegas sights like Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam.

    Glad that you’re back Jennifer, we’ve missed your posts around here !

  2. Jennifer says:

    It is good to know that I was missed 🙂

    It was extremely deceptive! I’m glad to be home – so I don’t have to walk so much!

Leave a Reply

