I Hate School!

🙂 Ok, not totally – I’m just indulging in a fit of juvenile whining caused by a realization that there less than a month left in the semester – and copious amounts of work left to do. School is a pain in the neck. I have discovered that I dislike deadlines, irritating interactions with fellow students, confusing assignments, the generally unpleasant feeling of not really knowing whether I messed up on an assignment and all of the seemingly bizarre, endless and sometimes nonsensical administrative hoops through which colleges make paying students jump. There is something about taking classes that reminds me too much of being back in high school and having to ask for permission to use the bathroom, of having 3 minutes to go from class to class, and of all of the other rules and regulations. And yes, I have horrid nightmares that my high school diploma has been invalidated and that I must return to my high school to make up something or other before the rest of my degrees are also invalidated. Yuck!

Maybe it becomes more difficult to follow orders as one gets older. Maybe I have less patience for such stuff than I did 20 years ago. I know that each time I return to school, I find it much more difficult to deal with the associated crap that comes with it. I’m not necessarily talking about professors. Although they generally have strict regulations about due dates, assignments, etc., I have found that they are fairly reasonable if you communicate with them about things that are going on in your life that are causing complications. Of course, there are always exceptions. Right now, I’m more annoyed by the nuts and bolts – graduation requirements, the forms that need to be filled out, needing to be on top of dates, etc. School gets much more complicated as one nears completion of the program. Ultimately, this is a good thing – I’m just feeling overwhelmed by it all!!!!!

6 Responses to I Hate School!

  1. val says:

    O.M.G. i have the SAME DREAM all the time!!! So weird, I wonder what it signifies?!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I have no clue what it signifies. However, I feel much better knowing someone else has the same dream!!!!

  3. sharon says:

    “Maybe it becomes more difficult to follow orders as one gets older. Maybe I have less patience for such stuff than I did 20 years ago. I know that each time I return to school, I find it much more difficult to deal with the associated crap that comes with it. I’m not necessarily talking about professors.”

    Jennifer, I hear you! I have vowed to myself that this will be the last–the very last–time I ever commit to a graduate school program. I still have the bitter taste of last semester in my mouth. Not being as charitable as you, I will say that it has everything to do with “She Who Must Not Be Named” and the total lack of enforced standards that are applied to her or to any of the professors. Yes I’ve had a few good ones, but this is entirely too random for my taste. Or maybe I’m just getting old and cranky and impatient with the whole academic scene.

  4. I’ll add to the mee too’s. I am currently trying to get my school to apply my scholarship money to my tuition. The absurdity abounds- I keep getting the suggestion to “just come into the office and we’ll work this out” – it’s as if I was the only distance student they had! That and the fact that I can’t get a response out of my adviser to save my life is making for a very frustrating summer. 😛

    My reoccurring dream is that there’s a class (usually math) that I have somehow forgotten to go to all semester, and now I have to go to the final but can’t find the class.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Sharon, I admit to trying to take the high road quite a bit. I am trying like mad to give many people at SCSU the benefit of the doubt. I am losing a bit of patience with the whole thing – and am almost thinking of nothing other than just getting my degree and hightailing it out of there. I find that I do (at my current place in life) have less tolerance for the types of things that are going on than I did when I was an undergraduate. It makes me more irritated. I’m paying money – and I want to have a voice!

    Karin, I’ve had that dream too!!! Best of luck working everything out at school – I know how frustrating it can be.

  6. […] for “I hate school,” “I HATE SCHOOL!,” hate school, etc. So, ok, I wrote a post that I titled “I Hate School!” Admittedly, I was indulging in a bit of whining and […]

Leave a Reply

