Let’s Try This Again


Venice Originally uploaded by ScruffyNerf.

I mentioned in May that I had sent a letter about school/distance issues to the Dean of the School of Information, Communication and Library Science at SCSU. Well, I hadn’t gotten any response. I want to note that I thought there was something funky with the email address that I had used – so it is entirely possible that the dean never actually received the email. Because I am a naturally reticent person, I hesitated to send another email – I didn’t want to badger the guy. However, I really needed to follow up. After consulting with my advisor, I re-sent the initial email to the dean (and the email address doesn’t look wonky). So, let’s see what happens now. Again, I’m having fun with flickr. No other reason than that for the picture. Venice is a magnificent city – and I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to visit it.

2 Responses to Let’s Try This Again

  1. diane says:

    Jennifer,

    I’ve been discussing “student voice” on my blog, inspired by numerous other educational bloggers. It occurs to me that our conversation should be extended to include a broader definition of students, including post-graduate and online learners.

    Distance learning certainly has its pluses and minuses, but you’ve discovered what I consider its greatest benefit: it fosters the creation of a community, with all of the interaction, support, and collaboration that any good community provides.

    diane

  2. Jennifer says:

    I will definitely need to check out your blog diane. I am agreed that the conversation needs to include all students who need to have a stronger voice. Right now, I am coming at this as a distance student – who is experiencing problems, etc. We need opinions from others.

    I agree that the greatest benefit to distance learning should be the creation of community. This is what I am currently missing – and am hoping to make others aware of the problem.

Leave a Reply

