Some Needed Inspiration Arrives

Yesterday was a fairly eventful day. Blog-wise, things were hopping. I shouldn’t have been suprised by this since anytime one gets mentioned by Meredith Farkas on Information Wants To Be Free, visits tend to skyrocket. I picked up some new readers, got some interesting and supportive comments and found some new educational blogs that are worth reading. Non-blog-wise, I felt the beginnings of a much needed attitude adjustment. I was quite humbled to have played any part in Meredith’s decision to pursue one of her dreams. Once I got over my amazement, I was so gratified to see some excitement over the possibilities in distance LIS education. There is so much room for improvement, and Meredith’s interest in getting involved makes me believe that it just might be possible. Seriously, this definitely helped to renew some interest in my own education – some badly needed interest.

I need to continue my quest to get the voices of distance students (and all students who take classes online) heard at SCSU. I will pursue this – regardless of the response from the dean. This is important. I will try to renew my interest in my education – to care about what I am studying. I will make it through – and I will be okay!

4 Responses to Some Needed Inspiration Arrives

  1. Robbi says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    I am also a DE student working on my MS in IS, albeit at University of TN-Knoxville. I enjoy reading your blog, if only to know that I am not alone 🙂 I started work on the degree at Rutgers as an on-campus student. One benefit of being DE (and somewhat disappointed about the slowness of Web 2.0 classes being developed) is that it has forced me to be more aggressive in pursuing educational activities outside of the program. I’ll be taking a CEU class at University of Illinois-Champaign in Virtual World Librarianship starting next week; I don’t know if I would have pursued that if I was still in a traditional classroom.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Robbi, Thanks for the comment! It is always nice to know that one isn’t alone in their struggles. I agree with you about DE – it is so convenient and yet, I have found that I need outside activities to supplement the education that I am getting. Thanks for sharing your experiences!

  3. Meredith says:

    Go you, Jennifer! I think what you’re doing is so important; the voices of the people disappointed by distance learning need to be heard. I know you didn’t want to be a leader, but you definitely are one. And it’s been a very nice thing to watch you becoming one on your blog over the past year or so. 🙂

    Maybe, in our own little ways, we can help to make distance learning better for future library school students.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Meredith! Sometimes, it can feel as if I am beating my head against a brick wall. I needed to here that others care about the issue – and also see some problems with distance education. Your post definitely helped to renew my energy!!

Leave a Reply

