Some Exciting Developments

Despite the fact that I will not have the opportunity to take any “Library School 2.0*”classes in my time at SCSU, I’m very excited about some nascent movements in that direction. It looks like Meredith Farkas will be teaching a class on social software to library students (via social software?). Additionally, Ellysa Kroski will be teaching a class on Web 2.0 at the Palmer School of Library Science this fall – complete with a website community for the class. I couldn’t be more thrilled. Library school programs, especially those conducted via distance, need more than what they currently possess to be well rounded and engaging.

*Library School 2.0 – With this moniker, I am not referring to classes about Library 2.0 or Web 2.0. I’m alluding to classes that are conducted using 2.0 tools. It seems to me that actually using these tools to conduct a class is the best way for students to learn about them. It is also a wonderful way for distance students to connect, bond and collaborate – things are are quite difficult to do with current modes of online education.

2 Responses to Some Exciting Developments

  1. I’m excited too. I hope more schools will start to conduct classes using these kinds of tools. I’m in a class using Sakai right now, and it is surprisingly (or not surprisingly, I guess) good. It’s fast and has a lot of really robust features.

    I keep debating about the open vs closed classes. On one hand, it would be great to see open classes- on the other, it’s also great to know that what you’re saying is behind a wall while in class. Many people have shared personal experiences about class, work, and real life that they might not have has the class been exposed.

  2. Jennifer says:

    The open vs. closed debate will be one of the major ones, I think. I would love to have so much more class information open for everyone to share. However, your point about the need for closed discussions is well taken. I agree that open discussions would hamper the freedom with which express themselves. So much real world stuff comes out in class discussions – and it would be bad to lose that.

Leave a Reply

