It’s Back To School

School started today. I’m taking ILS519-Collection Development (also known on the syllabus as Acquisitions and Development of Library and Information Resources) this fall. I will admit to being less than excited about the subject matter – there were so many other classes that I would have preferred to take. However, I do like the professor and am excited about having the opportunity to be in another class with her. I took ILS566-Library Management with her over the summer. Her assignments were both challenging and fun. Fortunately, the syllabus for ILS519 indicates this trend should continue. I’m also looking forward to the fact that I am only taking one class this semester. The last time that I took one class was during the summer 2006.

It appears as if there will be 7 assignments for this class, 10 discussion questions, a midterm and a final project. The first discussion question is due by the start the next unit – probably sometime next week. Although I don’t have any information about upcoming assignments, the syllabus did have information about our final project. For this project, we will essentially be weeding a section of an existing library collection. We are to choose a subject area (I will be doing a technology section) which has at least 50 titles in it, review the section, make recommendations about 50 specific titles and write a paper. I am actually looking forward to doing this.

Now, I’m off to do some reading!

2 Responses to It’s Back To School

  1. Toni says:

    I loved that weeding assignment! I planted myself in the PNs and let loose on 50 film books. Glad you’re looking forward to it.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’m glad to hear something positive about the assignment – and glad to know that others have lived through it 🙂

Leave a Reply

