Mid-Way Through The Semester

I just turned in my midterm exam for ILS519-Collection Development. As usual, I’m not sure how I did. It wasn’t that the exam was difficult, I just worry about whether or not I got the point. One of the nice things about this professor is that so many of her assignments are practical in nature. For this exam, we had to answer three questions relating to ethical concerns in collection development. While we are expected to justify our answers, we need to answer the questions based on personal opinion. I really like these assignments. They require a great deal of time and thought.

Last Thursday, our fourth assignment of the semester was due. The assignment dealt with researching serials and electronic resources vendors. Again, it wasn’t terribly difficult, but somewhat time consuming. I have been quite busy with school over the past week. I also have to answer three discussion questions by this Thursday night. I am looking forward to having a bit of time to relax once I have answered the discussion questions.

One a related note, I registered for my last class this morning – ILS680 Evaluation and Research. Wow! It is really starting to sink in that next semester should be it. I filled out my request to graduate in May of 2008. I have to do some follow up because although I have updated my planned program, the changes don’t seem to be reflected in the online systems at school. I would hate for a clerical type error to delay completion of the program. I get so nervous about whether or not I will have completed the graduation requirements. Hopefully, if I get some answers, I will be able to relax for a little while. Here’s hoping!

2 Responses to Mid-Way Through The Semester

  1. Toni says:

    Jennifer, the graduation process is really, really simple: nervewrackingly simple. So simple, in fact, that I spent weeks bothering any available contact at SCSU (my advisor, the graduate office, Kathy, the registrar) to be absolutely sure that there wasn’t some sort of difficult hoop that I had to jump through in order to graduate.

    It’s a great idea to get a head start, as you’re doing– especially if there are errors in Banner. Good luck, and congratulations on your last registration! Just think: soon, you can stop subscribing to the listserv. (Actually, I didn’t unsubscribe for a few months because it was interesting to keep up with some of those conversations… but I felt so free once I did!)

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the comment about graduation Toni! The reassurance definitely helps. I am looking forward to being done. I hope I can survive ILS680!!!!

Leave a Reply

