I’m Still Suffering From Blogger’s Block

Several weeks ago, I wrote about the fact that I was suffering from blogger’s block. I was really interested in writing. I started between 15 and 20 different posts, had several posts that I wanted to comment on, but was just not able to put together any coherent thoughts. I deleted all of the drafts that I started. Since then, I’ve been steadily losing interest. I’m hoping this is normal – that blogging is something that should really have its ups and downs – much like other things in life.

Now, having said that, I have to add that right now I put the blame on this lack of desire squarely on the shoulders of baseball – and in particular the Boston Red Sox. Although I hope today’s Rolling Rally in Boston was wonderful (and it is an absolutely beautiful day for such an event), the trip to the playoffs has decimated my mental state. Since the Red Sox entered the playoffs, sleep has been fairly non-existent. The World Series in particular was gruesome. I’m quite thankful for my sanity that it only lasted 4 games. Saturday night’s game – at 4hrs and 19 mns – ended just before 1AM. Yikes! I turn into a pumpkin at about 10PM. Fortunately, I didn’t have to work on Sunday. However, I was a mess on Monday – and would seriously have done almost anything to be able to stay in bed. As a fan, I’m in a state of euphoria that the Sox managed to win their second series in 4 years – it is a  too bad that I’m too tired to actually enjoy it.

4 Responses to I’m Still Suffering From Blogger’s Block

  1. Kyger Bailey says:

    Have you thought about leaving your blog for a week, not thinking about it and then returning to see what happens? Maybe you need a new subject matter to write about. I just started my new blog and the ideas have been flowing faster than I can write. Just a thought. Hang in there.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Kyger, I have actually tried it. I’ve been away from my blog for extended periods (3 to 5 days) for several times. I think I just need to relax. If I don’t feel like blogging, I don’t feel like blogging. I doubt the world will cave in. Anyway, thanks for the comment!!!

  3. Jason says:

    I haven’t done much blogging lately myself, though I check in on matters in Libraryland to see what’s happening. I currently don’t have the time or inclination to write much about it, and more personal interests have overridden library topics for the time being. I think I’m rebelling against the conventional wisdom that “good bloggers” have to post daily.

    The way I see it, we somehow got by when even “big names” could only publish one article or column a month. Now “anyone” can self-publish at anytime; that is a wonderful ability, but it can also make blogging seem like a compulsion or a meaningless obligation (instead of an empowering tool, which blogging should be).

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Jason! I guess I just need to stop worrying so much about it all. Posting dailly is for those people who feel the need to be “important” bloggers. I’m not so much worried about that. I am a bit concerned about whether or not I’m losing interest in blogging overall. I hope not, but have to be aware that this might be the case.

    Anyway, I do miss your posts. I hope that all is going well after your move!!!

Leave a Reply

