Wednesday Evening Reflections

Recently, it dawned on me that one of the major reasons I haven’t been too keen on blogging of late is that I’m mentally exhausted – I just haven’t had the energy. When I come home from work, I really just want to veg out in front of the tv. Fortunately, school hasn’t been an issue. Taking just one class has made a huge difference. The workload is very doable – and I am enjoying the class SO much more than I thought I would. I do have an assignment due tomorrow – and I have to get cracking on that!

So, why am I so tapped out? It seems a bit absurd that I didn’t realize that much of my stress was due to work. It has been a semester full of absolutely everything. The beginning of the semester was extremely difficult. There were software issues (most notably problems with Vista and Office 2007), new system implementations (ILLiad – with which there is a significant amount of work and a new digital asset management system), and college-wide strategic initiatives dealing with IT (and as such, the library which is heavily dependent on technology). We are also in the process of redesigning our entire college web site and implementing a new content management system. The workload is somewhat staggering. I guess it isn’t too surprising that when I leave work, I’m not terribly interested in thinking about or writing about library issues.

Life seems a bit brighter now, so I think that things are easing up. Last week, someone at work nominated me for an employee recognition award – something like an employee of the month thing. While I don’t feel the need to be recognized, the certificate that I received via campus mail put a big smile on my face. Seriously, it could not have come at a better time. Wow! The $15 gift certificate to Dunkin’ Donuts was fine. I gave it to my husband because I don’t drink coffee. However, the nice words written by a coworker on the nomination form were wonderful. I seriously had no understanding that being nominated would be such a boost. Added to that, my husband gave me an early birthday present tonight – a plush, green bath towel and Border’s gift certificate (my actual birthday is still several days away). I sense that a relaxing bath with a good book will be in my immediate future. I also think that I might end up spending my birthday baking cookies with my 8 year-old nephew and 5 year-old niece (my 2 year nephew is welcome to join us – but I suspect he will balk at being left with Aunt Jen and Uncle Mike).

The bottom line: I guess that I have been a bit depressed, but didn’t realize it. Hopefully, this revelation means that things are looking brighter!

6 Responses to Wednesday Evening Reflections

  1. Kristofer says:

    Jennifer: I sit here at the reference desk pondering some of the same issues. Granted, I am not in school, but I have been “tapped out” on a variety of things. I could list all the things that are keeping me busy, including oddly enough, a university blogging project, but let me just say that you don’t have to blog every moment in life. A good break can keep things fresh for you. Sometimes I wonder how librarian bloggers find time to actually blog. Personally, instead of having nothing to say at the moment, I have actually way too much to say…..and I have no idea where to start. Personally, I blame the month of October, which could be the worst month for academic libraries. Congratulations on the recognition award, and have a happy early birthday. Cheers!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Kristofer – yes, October seems to be an awful month (in the spring, it seems to be April that is difficult). Blogging takes a huge amount of time. Because I haven’t had the time (or desire) of late, I can’t imagine how I found the time to blog so much while I was so busy with work and school.

    I really hate the “I-can’t-write-because-I-have-too-much-to-say” syndrome. I have had that happen, and it isn’t any fun. Thanks for the comment and the birthday wishes. Best of luck with your projects!! It is always nice to know that one isn’t alone with these type of work issues!!!

  3. Mark says:

    Congrats, Jennifer and early Happy Birthday wishes!

    I hope things lighten up for you soon.

  4. Kirsten says:

    You certainly “sound” better, Jennifer. Glad things are looking up for you.

    And happy birthday!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes!!! Life is certainly looking a bit brighter.

  6. Happy (early?) Birthday!

    I’m in the doldrums, and I’m blaming the weather change. It’s as good as anything.

Leave a Reply

