I Don’t Want To Know!

Earlier, I referred to today’s postings over at Information Wants to Be Free and Annoyed Librarian about the identity of the pseudonymous Annoyed Librarian. I chuckled quite a bit about both posts (or really the one post and its slightly edited twin). As the day wore on – and the comments on both posts rolled in, I got to thinking about anonymity, pseudonymity and blogging. This has been a much debated topic. It can be easy for people to hide behind anonymity and use it as a tool to engage in negative behaviors. However, it can be necessary and even important in many circumstances. I thoroughly enjoy the Annoyed Librarian’s take. She often annoys me, sometimes makes me laugh, but always makes me think and rethink my own opinions about particular topics. She challenges me to challenge my own beliefs.

With this in mind, I started thinking about the overall impact of the Annoyed Librarian. I realized today that one of the reasons that I have never really speculated about the AL is because I do not want to know her identity – I DO NOT WANT TO KNOW! She is an effective voice because of her pseudonymity. In a very weird sort of way, I think that knowing her identity could possibly ruin her credibility. It could essentially take away the punch that AL packs – and that would be a shame. So, I’m going to allow myself to bask in the possible ambiguity of today’s events. That is how I want to see it.

On an entirely different subject, this is my third post today and fifth in three days. I’m guessing the blogger’s block has moved on to haunt someone else.

5 Responses to I Don’t Want To Know!

  1. Meredith says:

    Exactly. I feel the same way. It’s not having a person attached to that persona in our minds that lets us enjoy her writing.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Yes, so often we react to what people say or write because we know who they are – and we make assumptions based on who they are. I realize that we also make inferences because of anonymity, but in different ways.

    Thanks for making me smile yesterday, Meredith!!!

  3. Meredith says:

    Glad I could help (and get you blogging again! I missed your insights).

  4. An excellent post. AL has done an exceptional job of maintaining pseudonymity, and I hope they/she/he/it never gives that up. (Heck, I don’t care whether she/they/he/it is/are really one or more academic librarians.)

  5. He he, have you noticed how many librarian bloggers are posting that they are the Annoyed Librarian? Just to be clear, I have blogged about it as well… 🙂

    http://talkingbookslibrarian.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

