Weeding – Not So Much Fun!

Ok, there is something incredibly satisfying about throwing things out. One of my fondest memories from my time in the world of libraries is getting to toss many years of hardcover Index Medicus volumes out of a third-story fire door into a waiting dumpster. The fact that this was in preparation for a move into a new library made it that much more exciting. However, when weeding a section of a library for a school assignment, you don’t actually get to experience the thrill of the toss. And, while I have thoroughly enjoyed my collection development class, it has only reinforced my earlier belief that collection development is not a job that would make me happy.

As you might guess, I am knee deep in my final project for ILS519-Collection Development. I am weeding a section of QA76 books in my library. This is a very, very time consuming project. We need to examine each book, determine whether to discard, keep, replace, etc. Should we replace a volume with something else? We need to make recommendations about new titles where appropriate. I feel like I am up to my eyeballs in library catalogs, Books in Print, OCLC, Resources for College Libraries, Choice and other sources. Realistically, I probably have a good handle on the project. But, it isn’t due until Friday (which isn’t that far away) and I feel compelled to keep looking for more information on the titles in question. I think that I am physically incapable of finishing an assignment early. I have an obsessive compulsive need to keep working. I still have to do quite a bit of narrative also.

Well, it is time to get back to work!

4 Responses to Weeding – Not So Much Fun!

  1. Sharon says:

    “I think that I am physically incapable of finishing an assignment early.”

    You and me both! I could never turn an assignment in early. I would have all kinds of second thoughts and re-writes and tweaking of one word here and there… Nope, it just couldn’t happen. I must hold onto it until the last possible minute.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Glad to know that I am not alone!!! It is awful. For me it is like Christmas shopping. I can’t start early because I would just keep buying and buying and buying . . .

  3. Josh says:

    I began a weeding project soon after I started at my job in July. The other great part about it (besides cleaning up the collection and hopefully making it more usable) is that I now have a great feel for our humanities collection. By making myself go through the 800s book by book I have become more aware of what we do and don’t have, which helps not only my purchasing decisions but my ref desk interactions as well.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Josh, you are right that it is a great way to get familiar with a collection. I can recite titles from our computer science collection backwards and forwards right now. Now, that I have passed in the project, I’m not hating it so much!!

Leave a Reply

