Why I Haven’t Been Blogging

I think the blogger’s block is gone – although I can’t really tell because I haven’t been blogging. But, the reasons that I haven’t been blogging are numerous: back issues that kept my horizontal for much of November, school work and my latest social networking site that has been keeping me very,very busy. I am now officially part of WebKinz World. My niece and nephews bought me a panda WebKinz for my birthday. They are WebKinz fiends – and felt compelled to share the experience with first their parents, then their grandmother and then me – Aunty Jen. Within minutes of meeting my new pet, I was at the computer with my nephew, Jimmy, going through the adoption process. He then gave me a cursory tour of the WebKinz website – paying particular attention to his favorite parts of WebKinz World.

All that I can say is that I am quite amazed by the whole thing. I’ve been aware of WebKinz for quite a while. I’ve bought several as presents. I’ve watched the kids the play games, helped them answer trivia questions, etc. However, I didn’t realize how intricate the whole process would be. WebKinz World is a fairly sophisticated social networking site – for children. Before you can adopt a new pet, you need to create a login. When I went to register, I was amazed to see that simple passwords are not allowed. People must use a number in their password. One the registration page, there is information about password security.

From there things get interesting. My nephew helped me add friends – himself, his sister Emily, my sister in law, brother and mother. “We can chat. We can send each other notes. And you can send me presents,” he told me. He then showed me the games. Sadly, he didn’t tell me about the fact that one has to regularly feed and exercise one’s pet. Don’t worry, though. Jimmy sent me a treadmill, and now I’m exercising and feeding Freddie regularly!

So far, I’ve added a bedroom, a bathroom and an outdoor space (to grow the corn that I received as a present from my niece Emily) to Freddie’s home which originally had only one room. I’ve furnished the bathroom and the bedroom with my Kinz cash. Of course, all cash must be earned. So far, I have done several jobs and answered lots of trivia questions. Jimmy keeps emailing me in order to check on my progress. He is worried that I am not taking care of Freddie. All in all, this is a fascinating world. And, it is where I have been spending ALL of my free time. This is one of the major reasons that I haven’t been blogging of late. Now that I’m comfortable with WebKinz, however, I think I can spend less time there. Well, unless my niece and nephew find out . . .

3 Responses to Why I Haven’t Been Blogging

  1. That sounds really fascinating. I’ve been tempted to buy a WebKinz thingie just to see what it’s like, but I can’t bring myself to do it. (I don’t need another addictive free time filler upper.)

    Your nephew sounds just like me trying to get my relatives on Flickr.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Seriously, you probably don’t need something else to fill up your time 🙂 It can be very addictive – especially since my niece and nephew like to check up on Freddie. But, it has been fun. And it has made me cool again!!!

  3. If only we could get people to be as excited about libraries. (couldn’t help thinking it.)

Leave a Reply

