I’m Starting To See The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

In some ways (ok, in many ways), I feel like I have been going to school forever. It is difficult to remember my life when I didn’t have school – when I had free time. I do know that it hasn’t been forever. After all, I took my first class in the MLS program at Southern in the Fall of 2005. So, I have been making decent progress in completing the program. I’ve been aware that I have been getting close to the end. However, two things occurred this week that brought home how close I am to the end.

First, I received my grade for my fall class, ILS519 – Collection Development. In response to the email from the professor, I took time to thank her for this class – and two others that I have taken with her. I figured this would be a good time because it would be the last class that I will take with her. She sent me a wonderful reply with some incredibly kind comments. I was a bit sad that I wouldn’t be able to take another class with her.

The second thing was that I payed my last tuition bill. WOOO HOOOO!!!! (Note: I haven’t really paid it off yet because I paid the bill with my credit card. But, the end is in sight) This was extremely satisfying – especially since I have been paying for the degree out of my own pocket. I just added it up – a meager $17,045.00 for a distance MLS degree. And, that is quite inexpensive when compared to tuition at other schools!!

Now, I have one class to finish – and the other graduation requirements to complete: an eportfolio which includes a resume, information about important core concepts learned in the program, links to one’s best work and one’s capstone project. I will be doing the project in ILS680-Evaluation and Research during the Spring of 2008. I’m planning to work on the eportfolio stuff over break. We will see how that works out.

So, the end is in sight. If everything goes accordingly, I should graduate in May of 2008. I’m a bit in awe because it doesn’t seem possible. I’m feeling a bit sad because although I need to be done so that I can get back to my life, the experiencing has been enriching in many ways. I’m also nervous because I expect this semester to be the most challenging of the program. The nicest part is that the light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter and brighter.

6 Responses to I’m Starting To See The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

  1. fern chasida says:

    lucky you! great news! i just finished my second semester and the end is still far away.

  2. Mark says:

    Yay Jennifer! Here’s to a good strong finish this semester as we both face this task of finishing.

    Mine will be particularly challenging for me as it doesn’t involve any actual “class” but writing my project paper. I do much better with some structure.

    I love many things about school and I really despise many others. I, too, am looking to be formally finished, although I hope to never be “done” as everyone seems to ask when as if that is a good thing. Been at it full-time or quite close since 1998. I am so utterly burned out on the semester system.

  3. Sharon says:

    I have been trying for two years to now to get a simple explanation of the relationship–if any–between the “portfolio” and the “capstone project” and ILS680. Thank You for clearing that up for me! My efforts to maintain an on-line portfolio have not been in vain.

  4. diane says:

    Glad to hear you’re doing so well!

    If you have time, I tagged you for a meme. Just list 7 random facts about yourself and pass it along.

    Merry Christmas!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the good wishes!

    Mark, good luck to you!! I hope that things go well for you this semester. I’m not sure how you’ve done it. I wouldn’t have lasted as long as you in school!!! 🙂

    Sharon, this is just my best guess about the portfolio, the capstone project and the special project. I’m trying to figure out if I’ve done what I need to do – and am thinking I won’t really know until May!!!

  6. […] of Library Science via distance learning through Southern Connecticut State University reflects as she nears degree completion. If considering an online or in-class library science […]

Leave a Reply

