Resume Hell

As part of the graduation requirements at Southern Connecticut State University, students must have a current resume posted to an eportfolio site. Since graduation looms, I’m trying to get many of the administrative tasks done before classes begin on the 22nd of January. So, today is resume day, and I’m having an awful time with it. There is very little in this world that I find more painful than having to examine what I do and then write about it.

Intellectually, I understand why this is a requirement, and I even agree that it is something that every student needs to do. However, this is something that I generally avoid doing at all costs. One might think that this wouldn’t be an issue, because if I were on the ball, I would actually have an up-to-date resume that I could just post to the appropriate spot. But, I do not like to do things the easy way. So, yes, this does indeed mean that I have no resume. I’m not just trying to update one. I’m trying to do one from scratch. I have been in my current job for 8 years, and if memory serves, when I was promoted to Head of Library Systems from Library Systems Technician, I may have had to update my resume for the HR department. Regardless, I certainly haven’t thought about it at all in the past 8 years. ARGH!!!

So here I sit in resume hell not quite understanding why I find this such a difficult task. I have helped many people write resumes, proof read countless more. I have a good understanding of what a resume should look like, and of what it should contain. I know a good resume when I see one – and certainly can spot a bad one even easier. Unfortunately, none of that seems to help. Hopefully, I will learn my lesson and actually keep it current once I actually finish it! Hope springs eternal.

4 Responses to Resume Hell

  1. I really, REALLY need to update me resume. I have a website (karin.dalziel.org) where I keep a lot of the info, but I don’t have one place to store everything, and therefore I have about 50 variations of a resume, tailored for web design, retail, and a bunch of other jobs. I always find it hard to say “I am awesome!” without sounding braggy.

    Another thing I am bad about is documenting my successes at work. I’m always thinking “I should file that away for my review” but then I don’t. Since I don’t have as formal a review process as tenure track or even managerial co-workers, it doesn’t seem as important, somehow.

    Good luck with your resume writing. Remember- you are awesome! 😉

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thanks Karin! The reminder doesn’t hurt. I think one of the reasons that I find it so difficult to write resumes is because I don’t like to play myself up. ARGH!!! Your comment made me smile, though.

  3. monetizethis says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    I think one thing you could do is be totally implicit with what you say, and that way it doesn’t really sound like you’re bragging or playing yourself up. You are stating what happened and they make a decision about it. Just a thought…

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the advice!!!!

Leave a Reply

