What Are You Actually Searching For?

I find it fascinating to look at people’s search terms. I look daily at the search terms that bring people to my blog. I am continually awed by the fact that one of the most common searches that people do to end up here is some form of “I hate school.” Honestly, on average, at least 5 people a day reach my blog by searching for “I hate school,” “I HATE SCHOOL!,” hate school, etc. So, ok, I wrote a post that I titled “I Hate School!” Admittedly, I was indulging in a bit of whining and trying to deal with some of my frustrations with school. I did feel better after writing the post, but I gave no thought to where it would end up in Google’s results for the search “I hate school.” It actually falls within the top ten results – depending, of course, on the specifics of the search.

There are two things that come to mind when I think about this. First, this makes me think much more about what titles I use on my blog posts. I feel the need to be a bit more thoughtful about what I am trying to convey. Second, I can’t help but wonder about the motivation behind searching for the I-hate-school phrase. It seems like such an odd thing to search for online, and I can’t help but wonder what the searchers in question are hoping to actually find. Of course, I seriously doubt that I will actually be privy to anyone else’s motivation. Very strange!

2 Responses to What Are You Actually Searching For?

  1. jherai says:

    i liked the article… seems to me like i am journeying with you about “” I hate school. ” I am also in line with school and it really is a problem right now how youth can find that school is such a hell… could it be because of their experiences with their fellow classmates, teachers or the administrators? just thinking..,,, i’ll try to post a similar title with a different tone ( according to my experience i supposed)… i am awed that you already reach almost 100.000 hits…

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thanks jherai! I’m pretty amazed myself that I am almost at 100,000 hits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

