Just When You Think You Are Ready

. . . you find out you are not. I am incredibly nervous about this upcoming semester. I believe my last class, ILS680 – Evaluation and Research, is going to be tough and is going to require a great deal of work. To combat my nervousness and to help prepare, I tried to get myself organized and ready early. The professor who teaches this course has a great web site with tentative schedules and syllabi for students. I checked her site often in order to get a sense of the class – and to get more practical information (like textbook information). The professor uses the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association repeatedly. So, I ordered it back in mid-December. I went on my merry way believing that I was all set with books.

Thank goodness I checked her web site earlier in the week. Imagine my surprise when I realized there was another required text, Ling M. Pan’s Preparing Literature Reviews: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches (2008 3rd edition). I’m not sure why I didn’t check on this sooner. I did know in December that the information on the professor’s web site was tentative. Anyway, this second book is important early on in the class. One of our first assignment’s is a literature review. So, I needed to get this book – and get it fast.

Neither Amazon.com nor Barnes & Noble had this edition in stock. I was a bit worried for a moment before I realized that I should be checking with SCSU’s bookstore. They did have it in stock – for less than the advertised price at either Amazon or Barnes & Noble. I ordered the book and had to pay for two-day shipping, which is the price I must pay for not paying good enough attention. Anyway, this is the first time that I have ordered books from the college’s bookstore and am eager to see how it goes.

Now, I should be all set. Right? I hope so!

Leave a Reply

