Comcast Is All Over The Place

February 19, 2008

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post about some technical frustrationsI was experiencing. The biggest problem, at the time, was a sluggish internet connection. I mentioned in the post that Comcast is my ISP. I was rather shocked the next morning to find an email from somebody in Comcast’s executive office following up about the problem. We emailed back and forth a bit before he put me in touch with someone else. I was never able to actually talk to the other person due to difficulty trying to call during work hours (phone tag and other fun games). Of course, by the time I was in contact with the people at Comcast, the sluggishness of my internet connection was gone. I do plan to watch it. This was the third time that there were several days in a row where our connection was painfully slow. I do hope it never happens again, but one never knows.

Anyway, I tend to forget sometimes that anyone can read anything that I write on this blog. I forget that people and companies have ego feeds to keep them abreast of consumer opinion and the like. I almost felt embarrassed when I received the email from Comcast’s customer support. I mean, I hadn’t reported the problem to them directly. I wasn’t intentionally trying to express dissatisfaction with Comcast. Unlike Mark Lindner, I’ve have a pretty positive relationship with Comcast since they took over cable in my geographical area (but admit that I wouldn’t be at all happy in Mark’s situation either).

I will admit that I was a bit bothered by the information that Nicole Engard sharedon her blog about Comcast. I would be beyond annoyed if any of the sluggishness that I have experienced was a result of an intentional slowdown. When my school work is impacted, I tend to get quite surly. At this point, I will give Comcast the benefit of the doubt. As I said, I’ve been pretty happy with both our cable and internet services. Overall, internet speed at home has been far superior to speed at work. I do appreciate the effort that they are making to keep in touch with their users. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that all will be well.

The Trials and Tribulations of ILS680 – Evaluation & Research

February 19, 2008

Today, I received formal IRB approval to start research/data collection for my ILS680 – Evaluation & Research project. This is a huge weight off of my shoulders. Last week, I was scrambling to get my application completed and get all accompanying material to my professor before she was off to give a presentation out of the country. I had forgotten to mail one critical piece of information to the professor and was getting stressed trying to mail/fax/email/upload/etc. the document to her before she was leaving. She ended up doing most of the running around to get the applications submitted – a big plus for students, especially distance students.

So far, this class has periods of intense activity followed by seemingly endless periods of inactivity where one has to wait for the next step. It takes a bit to get used to. But overall, I think the class is going much better than I had anticipated. This, of course, could be because I have a tendency to always fear the worst. But, I feel good about my research project. I’m excited about being able to start my research (although I admit I’m not looking forward to actually writing the paper).

My current working title is “Impact of Technical Support Models on Computer Self-Efficacy in Academic Library Employees.” Now, I can start thinking about the details. I have so much work to do, but I feel confident that I will be able to do it (Okay, maybe I’m trying to convince myself).