I Have An Excel-Strength Headache

I am currently knee deep in data analysis for my research project  – and feel as if I am drowning in a sea of data. With 167 complete responses to my survey and, essentially 16 different points to which I could compare results, I am having a difficult time making sense of it all. I have about 100 different spreadsheets  – many that I have abandoned because something wasn’t quite right. I do feel as if I might be starting to see some patterns, but am still a long way from where I need to be. I’ve never been very good at dealing with statistics and probably won’t be in a hurry to do this type of research again.

Beyond my Excel-strength headache, I’m starting to realize that the end of the semester is approaching. I have HUGE amounts of work left to do for my paper and am starting to slip into full-blown panic mode, the likes of which I haven’t experienced in many, many years. I have to keep reminding myself that students pass this course all of the time and that it is doable. And now, I need to get back to work. It might be a good, long while before I actually see the light of day again.

5 Responses to I Have An Excel-Strength Headache

  1. Ann says:

    Maybe it would be a good idea to contact someone in your university’s (employer, not MLS university) business or math department and see if you could find someone to give you a hand with the statistical analysis. Often a colleague is more than willing to lend a hand. This isn’t wimping out–you see acknowledgements of such assistance all the time in dissertations, including at the doctoral level. If someone else can crunch the numbers for you, maybe using a higher-end statistical package such as SPSS, you would have more time and energy to devote to analyzing and make sense of the data. Good luck with your project–it sounds huge but I predict that it will yield useful information (a publish-able article too!)

  2. Graham Lavender says:

    Oh, the joys of data analysis in Excel at the end of semester – I feel your pain!

  3. […] extra-strength Tylenol. Data analysis breeds “Excel-strength” headaches. [Life as I Know […]

  4. Mark says:

    I second Ann’s advice, believe in your ability to do what you need to for this, and look forward to your resulting analysis.

    No pressure in that last one, though. 😉

  5. I would ask for help too. Usually you can find someone that will trade a favor for a favor.

    What is your research on?

Leave a Reply

