Now, I Can Celebrate!

Tonight, my professor for ILS680-Evaluation & Research posted grades for both our research paper and the class itself. While I was fairly certain that I would pass the class, I was extremely anxious about what the professor would have to say about my paper. This professor has a reputation for being tough (but fair)and for expecting quality work. She is the type of professor that compels me to work harder, to give more of myself, to try to do the best that I can, etc. The bottom line is that I did much better than I expected. I am thrilled with the grade that I got on my paper. The professor had some excellent suggestions – things that I wish that I had been able to see while I was writing the paper, of course.

Anyway, from the beginning of my time at SCSU, I wasn’t sure what to do about ILS680 and its research requirement. I put off taking the class for as long as possible. I agonized over which professor’s section I should take. I worried about topics. Beyond that, I wasn’t sure how much a research class would add to my MLS experience. However, I can honestly say that now I believe this to be THE most valuable class out of the 12 I have taken. It was a wonderful experience despite the fact that it was often painful. No other class has given me such a great feeling of accomplishment. I admit that while I felt this feeling of accomplishment from the moment that I turned in my paper, I have a much deeper feeling of satisfaction after having received my grade.

As I said earlier, I can now celebrate and enjoy a sense of accomplishment for having gotten this far!

4 Responses to Now, I Can Celebrate!

  1. Toni says:

    Congratulations! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

    Have you thought of publishing your paper? I had my 680 paper in Library Student Journal (Ann Dixon was the first SCSU student to be in LSJ). It was great to go through another editing process with their editors. Check out their submissions guidelines.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Well done, Jennifer!

  3. Joe says:

    Jennifer,

    Belated congratulations ! All the best to you 🙂

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the comments and the congratulations. It is SO awesome to be done.

    Toni, thanks for the information. I really have to seriously think about doing something with the paper. As always, it helps to hear about others’ experiences.

Leave a Reply

