Any Suggestions for Visiting Seattle?

It looks as if I am going to be going to Seattle for web development training (for our new content management system) in mid July. My husband and I are thinking of making a vacation out of the trip. I’m remarkably unfamiliar with the area – my trip last year to Las Vegas was the only time I’ve been out west. So, I thought I’d ask if anyone had any suggestions for must-see places to visit on a trip to Seattle?????? What should we plan to do? I definitely need to find something for my husband to do for the three days that I am in training.

4 Responses to Any Suggestions for Visiting Seattle?

  1. Jennifer says:

    SLA is holding their annual conference in Seattle this year and they have a wiki which highlights some spots to see (from the main page, follow the link “About Seattle”). Might be a good starting point.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the suggestion Jennifer. Their site had some good information. I’ve gotten some other thoughts from people about places to go – and I’m starting to get excited. I find it very daunting to visit a new place!!! 🙂

  3. Grant says:

    Stumbled across this post on Google, but being an Informatics grad in Seattle, I would say you have to check out the Seattle Library for sure. The Underground Tour is pretty fun, as is the aquarium and Pike Place, though they’re touristy. A more “Seattle” trip would be to do some kayaking on Lake Washington or go hiking in the Cascades. If you’re looking for places to eat, Restaurant Zoe, Anadaluca and Ray’s Boathouse are all good options (if you’re a serious foodie, you can check out our site, http://www.coffee.net for a big list).

  4. Jennifer says:

    Grant, thanks for the info. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

