Google to the Rescue

With Mail Goggles! Seriously. Google has launched a new Labs feature for Gmail that will prevent a user from sending an email if they can’t do a couple of simple math problems. The idea being that if you can’t do some simple math problems then you may not be in the right state of mind to send email (too drunk). Once enabled, it defaults to being active only during late evening hours on the weekend. The timing is customizable. I can’t say that I have ever sent an email that I regretted while incapacitated in some way during wee, weekend hours. Nor have I ever received an email that someone probably sent out unwisely in a drunken stupor.

I would turn it on to see how it works, but I am afraid that my simple math skills may cause me frustration even when my mind is in its normal state. That I do not need.

I would be much more interested in some new features that would prevent me from replying to all when not intended, that would prevent the receipt of out of office replies to bulk/listserv emails and that would sense when I too stressed out to deal with certain people or situations and would hold those emails until I’m in a better frame of mind. That would be cool!

Leave a Reply

