A Swift Kick to My Posterior

 


Japanese Maple

 

Originally uploaded by ScruffyNerf.

 

During the summer of 2007, I consciously decided to limit my outside distractions and focus on finishing school. I was emotionally overwhelmed by school issues and felt like everything in my life revolved around libraries. I worked in one all day and then spent an inordinant amount of time studying about them while I was at home. I decided that finishing school was critical – and knew that I had no intention of quitting my job (which I love on most days). I did, however, cut down on blogging-related activities – both writing and reading. This meant that I starting isolating myself from the greater library community. Oddly enough, it did help me get through my last two semesters of school.

However, I have now been out of school for six months and I have not yet re-engaged myself. I am now making a conscious effort – giving myself a swift kick in the posterior – to get out of my funk. I have become involved in two new projects at work (creating accessible library workstations for physically challenged students and taking responsibility for a relatively new digital image application – projects that I care about deeply) and am hoping to start blogging with more regularity. I have found that when I am in a blogging groove I pay greater attention to library news and read more attentively. I think about issues more and thus, am more engaged.

By the way, the picture has no relevance to the post. I took this picture this morning and it made me happy. The bright red of the leaves of this Japanese Maple tree in my front yard is such a beautiful color!

Leave a Reply

