Five Blogger Heroes

Walt Crawford started this discussion about a blogger heroes meme. Dorothea Salo took up the gauntlet and gave us her list. Which bloggers are my heroes??? Read on and see. I choose these five bloggers because they all had some type of impact on my choice to return to school or my decision to blog (and to keep blogging). It is tough to pick just five because there are so many others that I admire in addition to these.

  • Joy Weese Moll from Wanderings of a Student Librarian – I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Joy’s experiences in library school. This blog helped inspire me to bite the bullet and actually go to library school. I had been thinking about it (and putting it off) for far too many years. Joy’s blog also helped to inspire me to start my own.
  • Rebecca Hedreen from Frequently Answered Questions. One of the reasons that I seriously looked at SCSU for my MLS was because Rebecca seemed like a dedicated resource for distance students. Her blog is an essential resource – that I definitely appreciate.
  • Meredith Farkas from Information Wants to be Free. I’m not sure there is anything I can say about Meredith’s blog that hasn’t been said previously. I’ve always been amazed at how much energy Meredith seems to have – even more so since she and several others put together Five Weeks to a Social Library.
  • Walt Crawford from Walt at Random. I’ve been reading Cites and Insights for many years – it has always been an excellent source of information for those in the library field. He is also someone who is extremely welcoming to new bloggers.
  • Mark Lindner from Off the Mark. I started reading Mark’s blog . . .  the thoughts are broken . . . because he wrote quite a bit about his educational experiences. One thing I admire about Mark’s blog is that he seems to write with such honesty about both the good and the bad things that make up his life.

2 Responses to Five Blogger Heroes

  1. Mark says:

    Wow! Thank you, Jennifer. That’s some pretty impressive company, to say the least. I don’t believe I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Rebecca, but the others are pretty impressive in person, too. 🙂

    I’m really struggling with not writing so much lately, but school has to remain a priority and now it’s crunch time. I’ll try to get back to it soon, though.

  2. […] on my blog reading I came across two posts by two wonderful ladies who made me feel very special: Jennifer and […]

Leave a comment