A Goal Meme

I was tagged for this goal meme by Eduardo Peirano over on his Onlinesapiens blog. It is a pretty interesting meme – and I had some fun reading different people’s goals. The premise is to list “your best, most exclusive, and over-the-top goals.” Well, I have a confession to make – which will most likely go against every tenet that is set down for professional and personal development – I don’t really do goals. I live very day to day. If I’m unhappy with something, I work to change it (and yes, this may involve setting a goal for myself). These goals change constantly depending on where I am or what I am doing in life. This meant that I really had to think about what I would consider to be my most important, until now unspoken, goals.

  • Finish library school – This goal is almost the entirety of my life right now. I need, I want to be done!!!!!
  • Take better care of myself – Given that library school has taken over my life, I have little time for exercise, personal down time and relaxation. This needs to change. I’m feeling very fat and lazy of late – and this plays havoc with my mental state.
  • Travel more – There are so many fascinating places on this planet – and I would love to see them more. High on my list of priorities would be to see the pyramids in Egypt and tour the ancient ruins, relics, etc. in Greece. I’ve been to London twice – and would find it sad to never go back. However, I loved both Paris and Venice. I’m going to Las Vegas in early June – and have high hopes for that experience (especially since I’m definitely going to see the Grand Canyon).
  • Be happy – This is what I live for. Happiness is the key to everything for me. This is my most important goal.

Again, I won’t tag anyone because I guess although not a goal, it is a rule I live by. However, I’d love to know what your goals are.

5 Responses to A Goal Meme

  1. Joe Fox says:

    I’ve found that maybe the most important thing to do when setting a goal is just writing it down. The act of writing it out just makes you more accountable for it, even if you’re the only one who sees it or knows about it. When I think to myself that “I really need to travel more”, it doesn’t happen. When I wrote down a few years ago “I want to go to Florida this year for the first time”, it did happen. It has to be something that’s measurable and it has to be visible, like putting the goal up on your refrigerator so you’re always reminded of it. But that’s just my experience…

    Well, we have the same goal of finishing library school, but at my current rate, it might not be until 2017 for me 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    Joe, I have more post its and papers sitting around than I know what to do with 🙂 Actually, you are right that writing things down can help make one more committed to them.

    I’m sure you will be done before 2017!!!!!!!

  3. Pete says:

    Be more focused at times I guess. Set an actual goal 😉
    *Thinks*
    I will be the librarian at the National Coal Mining Museum of England by 2009
    There that’ll do 😀
    Good luck to all MLS students. I remember the relief at finishing my MSc back in 2005.

  4. […] goals. I am glad to see I am not the only person that does not set goals, Jennifer Macaulay at Life as I know it put into words exactly the way I live my […]

  5. […] Jennifer Macaulay – Life as I know it […]

Leave a comment