Enquiring Minds Need To Know

Several people have asked recently about my use of the “word” scruffynerf (this blog’s URL is http://scruffynerf.com or https://scruffynerf.wordpress.com; my Bloglines username is scruffynerf – as is my username for Flickr; and there are many other areas where I use scruffynerf). I’m afraid in explaining the meaning I have to admit to being a Star Wars fanatic. I was young when Star Wars originally came out and was utterly captivated by the tale. When The Empire Strikes Back came out, I fell in love for the first time with my ideal hero figure – Han Solo. I still get chills when Han is about to be frozen in carbonite and responds to Leia’s declaration of love with “I know.” Earlier in the movie during one of Han and Leia’s skirmishes, Leia calls Han a “scruffy-looking nerfherder.” Aren’t you excited that the mystery is solved?????

I will also admit that I have only been to the movies four times in the past 15 years – to see The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, and Pirates of the Caribbean 2. And yes, the words geek and nerd have been often used to describe my persona (most recently by my husband). I might just have to take some time to watch The Empire Strikes Back right now.

4 Responses to Enquiring Minds Need To Know

  1. As an old Star Wars fan (whose favorite of the movies is “Empire”), that’s a great explanation. I suppose now I’ll have to explain where my domain and blog names come from.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I admit to being curious – it is one of my favorite domain names, though!!

  3. Aaargh. It’s mutating into a meme.

    I wonder if there are users called “lollipopguild” who love the “Wizard of Oz” or “ulookinatme” (Taxi Driver), “givvadamn” (Gone with the Wind).

    I guess there’s probably “persianjim” and “sphynxjan” as well!!!

    (Now I wish I was posting as “sirexkat” for this all to make sense!!)

  4. Iris says:

    Funny, I was just about to ask you that. 🙂 I’ve wondered about it every time I’ve clicked the link to your blog for the last few months. What am i going to wonder about now?

Leave a comment